Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

can i make and sell toys based off characters from the store? - legal or illegal

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by r2dj, Jan 17, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. r2dj

r2dj

are there limits to how we can profit from assets? we can if it's in our games but can we also make merchandise like toys, shirts, mugs etc. based off the characters we purchased? is there someone that's actively doing it now? thanks again for taking the time.

-rj

2. LaneFox

LaneFox

You can be sued for anything.

Not a lawyer.

3. TonyLi

TonyLi

I'm not a lawyer either, but the Asset Store Terms are pretty clear:

(Section 2.2. Emphasis mine.)

But nothing's stopping you from contacting the artist directly and asking for permission to use their work in other forms, too.

wccrawford, Kiwasi, derf and 2 others like this.
  4. r2dj

r2dj

i knew it wouldn't be that simple...damn...and thanks!

5. neginfinity

neginfinity

It is forbidden. You are not allowed to sell derived works based on assets you bought, and you are only allowed to use them in interactive media.
    Asset store eula section 3.8

Kiwasi likes this.
  6. ThermodynamicsMakesMeHot

ThermodynamicsMakesMeHot

Licensor grants to the END-USER a non-exclusive, worldwide, and perpetual license to the Asset to integrate Assets only as incorporated and embedded components of electronic games and interactive media and distribute such electronic game and interactive media.

So basically if you than make Videos or screenshots your also breaking the ToS? Since your now creating derived works based on the assets. So if you post to youtube and ads monetize or screen shots turned into posters.