Search Unity

Can anyone use Compute Shaders through the Linux editor?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by CellGames, Dec 11, 2015.

1. CellGames

CellGames

I'm new to Unity, and was looking to use Compute Shaders to do some procedural texture generation.
    I'm using the Linux Editor, and I'm having some trouble getting any compute shaders to run. Even example scripts fail to run (as far as I can tell) in both the editor and after building.
    Here's what I'm trying to do:

I have a Quad using the default material (white), that I attach a Script that calls the dispatch on a ComputeShader, which I'm expecting to change the Quad's texture to red.
    In the editor, no matter how simple the Compute Shader is, I get this error:

Platform does not support compute shaders
    UnityEngine.ComputeShader:Dispatch(Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32)
    KernelExample:Start() (at Assets/KernelExample.cs:9)

I was told that building and running the application should work as unity would translate the HLSL shader into GLSL and run that, but the Quad stays white.

Is anyone able to help me diagnose the issues, and help me get a compute shader off the ground? A 'confirmed working' Script/ComputeShader example would be great, also.

Another attempt is where I load the TextureExample.unity scene from here, the texture container does pop up. However, it looks something like this...

https://imgur.com/a/sZILS

First four images are in the editor (it can display differently each run), after hitting the 'Play' button, and the last two images are the results from running the build. The brown square appeared once only, though.

My config:

Unity Editor 5.2.2f1
    Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS,
    GPU: AMD 390x

product: Hawaii XT [Radeon R9 290X]
    vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
    configuration: driver=fglrx_pci latency=0

OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    OpenGL version string: 4.4.13374 Compatibility Profile Context 15.20.1013
    Build Info / Player Settings: