Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

CameraTron9000 Asset

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by StrategyTron, Jul 4, 2019.

  1. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    Hi, this is the forum page for the CameraTron9000 asset found on the Unity Asset Store.

    This is the best place to post if you have any support requests, questions, comments, feature suggestions, etc....


    The asset's store page posting can be found here(coming soon)
     
  2. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    5,345
    No, you need to do it in the Asset Store topic.
     
  3. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
  4. SpyrosUn

    SpyrosUn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Posts:
    124
    The camera looks very interesting, but the instructions are really poor. We really really don't need to know every detail in a one hour and a half video :) Just make 2-3 videos explaining how to setup the camera for different kinds of games, like an rts, a simulation, a shooter etc..
     
  5. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    @SpyrosUn

    I'm glad you find it interesting :)
    I completely agree on the long video and the need for making a shorter video(s), and I will be posting a shorter one here in the next few days, sorry for the delay.

    Just to clarify, in case there was any confusion, the asset is specifically designed for strategy styled games, like RTS, city-builders, turn-based, strategy 4X, but can also be set-up for use in a top-down RPG styled game by using the 'follow game object' coroutine.

    I'll try and hit some points in a short video for these types of games. But feel free to get creative with it!

    Thanks for the feedback :)
     
  6. Barritico

    Barritico

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Posts:
    264
    Hi.

    I am looking for a camera system that allows me to place them as in an F1 broadcast

    Several cameras in the path that, through triggers, are activated, follow a vehicle, zoom to zoom, then zoom out, etc., etc. What a TV director would do, automatically.

    I've tried some products (not many, honestly) but they don't meet my expectations. In summary, I am looking to be able to stream the events of my game as automatically as possible.

    Would this product cover those needs?

    Thank you.
     
  7. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    @Barritico

    First of all, thank you for considering purchasing the CameraTron9000.
    I'd be happy to answer any questions you may have, but before I give you an answer, may I ask you to please clarify what exactly you mean by "zoom to zoom"?
     
  8. Barritico

    Barritico

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Posts:
    264

    Sorry....

    "zoom in" and/or "zoom out" according to the desired effect.
     
  9. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    @Barritico

    Thanks! Ok, now that we got that clarified, I can answer your question.

    So, let's break down the question into the sub-questions and I'll answer each one.
    - The triggers your talking about, which I assume will be something like, (The car passes a certain line on the track) kind of trigger, and doing camera switching, well, no matter the camera you purchase, you're still going to need to do a little bit of coding to make your triggers and switch between camera. Now, keep in mind, if you are going to use multiple objects/instances of the CameraTron9000, then you'll need to make sure you do a little coding to make sure the selection framework in CameraTron9000 works the way you want it to(Like only for the main camera that the player moves around). Although for a racing game, I doubt you will be using it.

    - The CameraTron9000 is fully capable of following a game object, now what I would suggest, is instead of using the following coroutine in the CameraTron9000, is to child the CameraTron9000 surface controller object to the car game object at the same location as the car, and make sure the camera object (which also holds the zoom animation curve script) is behind the surface controller(probably negative on the Z axis) and then instead of using the manual zoom controls in the CameraTron9000 (which is the mouse wheel) I would just write a short coroutine that makes the camera zoom along the zoom animation curve you design, at whatever speed you feel good about. This way the camera always stays behind the car. Although you can always be more creative with your zoom animation curve and make it whip around to the side of the car and look towards it. The zoom animation curve system in the CameraTron9000 asset makes it pretty easy to get the zoom animation you want, even if you're new to animation curves.

    - After the zoom in, you can use the same coroutine you wrote to just make it zoom out, so I'd suggest you make it modular for zooming in or out. You'll have to at least write that coroutine for any camera asset you purchase, but it's not a very challenging one to do. If you're new to coding, I'd be happy to offer some advice on how to start and approach it.

    - And about the automatic part, that would be handled by the triggers you design.


    So, tldr, yes you can do what you're trying to do with the CameraTron9000 asset, it'll just take a little legwork on your part. But no more legwork than you'd find with any other camera asset.

    I hope this completely answered your question! :)
    If you have any more questions, feel free to ask!
     
    Barritico likes this.
  10. StarFluke

    StarFluke

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Posts:
    31
    Hello,

    I am excited to use this camera in my Space Game. However, I can not get it to work. ( Later we can discuss using this without a Unity Terrain. )

    Issue:
    New purchase. First run. Much of functionality in Demo does not work. I see the selection rectangle form. I get movement on the x / z plane with edge and keyboard. However the camera will not rotate with mouse drag or keyboard. I set up a new empty scene with a Unity Terrain and verified this same result with the prefab.
    System is:
    Intel i7, 16GB RAM
    Radeon GPU
    Unity 2019.3.0f1

    Thank you,
    Daniel

    P.S. I set script order with an execution order script like:
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/utilities/105354
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/89961
     
  11. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    @StarFluke

    Hi, and first off, thank you for purchasing the asset!

    I'd be happy to help you get everything working. In regards to the rotation with the mouse and keyboard not working, did you set up a key to use for the rotation, and ensure that everything is enabled?

    Also, I see that you said you're making a space game. Does this game have a Unity Terrain Game Object? Because most of the CameraTron9000's scripts require Unity Terrain.
    If you're not currently using one, I'd suggest just making a flat terrain, and don't render the terrain. Only the collider is really necessary. I don't really know how you plan to design your space game, but the CameraTron9000 comes with the ability to move to Unity Terrains that are above or below it with a method, so you might want to give it a try as it could allow for some interesting vertical movement options. Just something to consider.

    It would be helpful if you could send me a screenshot of CameraSurfaceController script's variables in the Inspector.
    It will probably take 2 screenshots worth, because it has a lot of adjustable options.
     
  12. StarFluke

    StarFluke

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Posts:
    31
    The settings were left at default value. Then I tried changing the keys for rotation.
    SurfCtrl1.png SurfCtrl2.png SurfCtrl3.png SurfCtrl4.png SurfCtrl5.png
     
  13. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    @StarFluke

    Well, everything seems to be in order, I can't imagine how the camera would simply not rotate.....

    May I ask, what version of Unity are you running this on?

    Also, did you get any red errors from a CameraTron9000 script in your console?
    Not that, that should happen, and if it did, it'd also stop the script related to x-z axis movement, which you said you was still functioning, so this is probably not the source of the issue, but it couldn't hurt to be thorough.

    Did you use the prefab that the asset provided? The prefab ensures that all the objects are childed to the correct parent, and makes sure each game object with a unique instance of a script on it, that requires a unique instance of another script, has it assigned correctly. (Very important to make sure everything runs smoothly).

    If you weren't using the prefab, I'd suggest using that, and trying it again.

    If the problem persists, try uninstalling the asset, and re-importing it.
    There may have been an issue when importing it.

    If the problem still persists, then, if you wouldn't mind, if you could send me a copy of your Unity project. I just need the CameraTron9000 related game objects and Terrain in the project, feel free to remove anything you may be required to keep private. We'll get to the bottom of this issue. :)
     
  14. StarFluke

    StarFluke

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Posts:
    31
    • I'm using Unity 2019.3.0f1.
      • I suspect this is related to some API change.
    • I'm not seeing any red errors.
    • I used the Tron9000 prefab.
    • Tried uninstalling the asset, and re-importing it; the problem still persists.
    • Here is a link to the test project (420 MB)
    Thanks for the positive energy in your feedback!

    Daniel
    Starfluke: My "Space Game" project blog is at:
    http://www.starfluke.com
     
  15. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    @StarFluke

    It may also be related to how Map Magic alters Unity Terrains. I know some assets make their own Terrain objects, instead of using Unity Terrains.
    Unity has made a lot of changes regarding Unity Terrains in the past few years, however, that shouldn't actually affect the rotation functionality, more of the height adjustments, but I think 2019.3.0f1 should have all the relevant changes to Unity Terrain, as far as I know at least.

    I have a strong suspicion that the asset you used for script execution order is the culprit though. I used the built-in script execution order, found in the project settings. This is because the camSharedVariables script helps easily control whether to enable or disable certain functionalities all in a centralized place, like rotation or movement.

    It should look like this: Example.png
    Try using the built-in script execution order.


    If that doesn't help then, would you please re-send me your Unity Project, but please zip the file, any of these zip types will do (.zip, .rar, .7z).
     
  16. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    @StarFluke

    Hey there, it's been a few days and I haven't heard back from to see if we were able to solve your issues.
    I just want to follow up with you to make sure everything is working on you end.
    If not, let me know, and we'll keep working on it until we get everything working and running smoothly.


    Best Regards,
    StrategyTron
     
  17. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    @StarFluke

    I did some more digging, because I found your issue strange. Can you please send a screenshot of your Project Settings -> Input Manager -> ?

    It should look like this: Input Manager Example Pic.png
     
  18. JuddMasters

    JuddMasters

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Is there not a camera angle adjuster in the inspector for this asset or am I just missing it somewhere? Like when mouse front/back pan mode is disabled I'm stuck at such a low camera angle.
     
  19. StrategyTron

    StrategyTron

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    18
    @JuddMasters

    You'll need to edit the existing zoom animation curve animations or make a custom zoom animation curve. The default zoom animation curve is set to Horizontal Zoom.

    Let me know if you have any other questions :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
unityunity