Search Unity

Camera's not imported into Reflect

Discussion in 'Unity Reflect' started by dandeery, Sep 3, 2020.

  1. dandeery

    dandeery

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Posts:
    48
    When you set up a camera view in Revit and export to Unity Reflect. The camera doesn't get exported. Reflect appears to open up at a random position.

    If you place a camera in Pro build your Reflect scene. Reflect doesn't open up on the camera placed in Pro. I want my users to be at the front door of the building when they open the project in Reflect.
     
  2. quintus_smit

    quintus_smit

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Posts:
    29
    Heya Dan, is this when you open a project from the viewer? Or is it an imported model?
     
  3. dandeery

    dandeery

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Posts:
    48
    Hi Quintas. Thanks again for your response. It's both. When I open the viewer or import a model
     
  4. quintus_smit

    quintus_smit

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Posts:
    29
    hmm, the viewer will use it's own camera but for an imported model you should be able to use the main camera in the scene

    The Revit camera view is not imported as far as I know
     
    DavidMenard likes this.
  5. dandeery

    dandeery

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Posts:
    48
    Thanks for your response. I need to stick that on the wish list. That is something clients will want
     
    DavidMenard likes this.
  6. FredMoreau

    FredMoreau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Posts:
    31
    When you import the model in the Editor, the "View" from Revit is stored as a GameObject with proper position and rotation and metadata for FOV.
     
  7. DCSWizard

    DCSWizard

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    This appears to be the same for an export from Navisworks. After the export the Reflect view is far away from the model, nothing like the view in Navisworks. Just trying to do a quick export and view in Reflect.
     
  8. dandeery

    dandeery

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2020
    Posts:
    48
    Thanks Fred. How do we set this camera to be the startup camera for Reflect
     
  9. quintus_smit

    quintus_smit

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Posts:
    29
    @FredMoreau you forget us mere mortals don't all know the dark art of C# scripting like you :)

    @dandeery my guess would be you need to grab all that info that is saved on the GameObject and apply it to your camera via a script after import. That should set the camera up and move it into position when you run the scene.
     
    FredMoreau and DavidMenard like this.
  10. FredMoreau

    FredMoreau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Posts:
    31
    You can start from the Reflect extensions package, which includes a similar example.
    If you want to use this in the Editor, all you need is to add a Camera component to that object, and match FOV, or align the Camera to it.
     
unityunity