Search Unity

Camera Target help

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by lukerussell0805, Mar 22, 2018.

1. lukerussell0805

lukerussell0805

Hey so I have a camera follow script with a target which is my character. However in the networking when a player spawns in, they are considered a clone so I cant get the exact target. If I try to make the clone a target the clone gets deleted anyways. Is there a way so when someone spawns a camera is on them? Thanks I am new to unity so yeah.

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Put something like this in a NetworkBehaviour on your player object prefab.

Code (csharp):
    2. void Start()
    3. {
    4.     if (isLocalPlayer)
    5.     {
    6.         bool setCameraTarget = false;
    7.         GameObject mainCamera = GameObject.FindGameObjectWithTag("MainCamera");
    8.         if (mainCamera != null)
    9.         {
    10.             CameraControl cameraControlScript = mainCamera.GetComponent<CameraControl>();
    11.             if (cameraControlScript != null)
    12.             {
    13.                 cameraControlScript.Target = gameObject;
    14.                 setCameraTarget = true;
    15.             }
    16.         }
    18.         if (setCameraTarget == false)
    19.         {
    20.             Debug.Log("Local player object unable to find main camera to set itself as Target");
    21.         }
    22.     }
    23. }
    In the above, I'm assuming that your camera has been tagged with MainCamera, and has a camera control/follow script called CameraControl with a public variable named Target of type GameObject. Just change that to fit whatever script you're setting the target on.