Search Unity

Camera scales objects attached to it weirdly

Discussion in 'Physics' started by XChillX, May 4, 2017.

1. XChillX

XChillX

So i have a weapon that you can pick up in the game, but when it goes from being a game object in the game, to in the players "arms" (actually just attached to a secondary camera in the hierarchy) See pics below. This is REALLY bad, as it stretches the gun so much and its terrible, I have a script that makes it so when you pick up the gun the scale resets, but when you drop the gun, its still stretched. Please help, this really break the game.

Attached Files:

2. methos5k

methos5k

3. XChillX

XChillX

I am new to unity, so no, i am not using that parameter, i am also new to c# but im trying to learn it, so i'll post what code have with setting the game objects scale. When the player presses "E" on a weapon it automatically becomes a child of the first person camera, but i also have a secondary camera which is a child of the first person camera, but the secondary camera renders above the first person camera (Secondary cam has depth 1) And it also only renders items set to the layer "Weapon"

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. namespace S3
    6. {
    7.     public class Item_SetScale : MonoBehaviour
    8.     {
    9.         private Item_Master itemMaster;
    10.         public Vector3 itemLocalScale;
    11.         public float xScale;
    12.         public float yScale;
    13.         public float zScale;
    15.         void OnEnable()
    16.         {
    17.             SetInitialReferences();
    18.             SetScaleOnPlayer();
    19.             itemMaster.EventObjectPickUp += SetScaleOnPlayer;
    20.         }
    22.         void OnDisable()
    23.         {
    24.             itemMaster.EventObjectPickUp -= SetScaleOnPlayer;
    25.         }
    28.         void SetInitialReferences()
    29.         {