Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. The 2023.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2023.1 feature highlights.
    Dismiss Notice

Camera not rendering

Discussion in 'Project Tiny' started by georgeq, Feb 20, 2020.

  1. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    I'm trying to assemble a new project. I created a new scene, but the camera component is a "regular" camera, and it does not render the sub-scene.

    tcam1.png

    The camera component on the Tiny Racing project looks like this:

    tcam2.png

    As first I though this was a custom property drawer, but there's no Editor folder on this project, so obviously the camera component has been replaced for tiny project. But such replacement is not happening when you install project tiny 0.21 from the package manager.
     
  2. AbdulAlgharbi

    AbdulAlgharbi

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Posts:
    319
    You need to have "com.unity.render-pipelines.universal": "7.1.7" added to your project
     
  3. AbdulAlgharbi

    AbdulAlgharbi

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Posts:
    319
    I would suggest that you copy Tiny3D sample as a start point, remove the assets, scripts and change the asmdef name to your project name.
     
  4. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    It is indispensable to use 7.1.7?... I installed 7.1.8 and the camera still not rendering anything in the sub-scene.

    Doing that generates issues with the package manager:

    tpm.png
     
  5. elliotc-unity

    elliotc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Posts:
    155
    Well that's a bug. Does it persist across editor restarts?
     
  6. pedro_unity

    pedro_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    172
    Hello @georgeq,

    My sincere apologies for running into this issue. This should not happen.

    There is something strange happening while obtaining entitlements for the packages. Would you kindly be able to share logs (either in thread or by DM) with me?

    I'll make sure that the adequate team picks this up and we get to the bottom of it.

    Thanks for your patience,
     
  7. Amir_AZNK

    Amir_AZNK

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2019
    Posts:
    13
    Hi @georgeq

    Would if be possible that you send logs and configs available at these paths, to us:

    On Windows:
    %LOCALAPPDATA%\Unity\
    %PROGRAMDATA%\Unity\config\

    On Mac:
    ~/Library/Logs/Unity/
    /Library/Application\ Support/Unity/config/

    For the sake of privacy you can send them as a private message if you want.
     
  8. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    No, it does not persist across restarts. Restarting the Editor solves the problem.

    Sorry, restarted the editor, I suppose this clears the logs... but this is what I did:

    1) Downloaded the TinyRacing project.
    2) I copied the Assets, Packages, and ProjectSettings folders form the TinyRacing project to a new folder.
    3) On the assets folder of the copied version, I deleted everything except for the Build DOTS runtime settings files and the Assembly Definition File.
    4) I added that as a project in the Unity Hub and opened it up.

    After that, I opened up the TinyRacing project, and observed the same issue, so I guess the problem was on the source files. In both cases, restarting the editor solved the problem.

    I'm using Unity 2020.1.0a21...
     
  9. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    Just one question, what happens to the log files when you have 2 projects open simultaneously with the same company name and product name? Because the folder is empty.

    Actually it seems all the projects I've opened with 2020.1.0a21 have no logs, because I only have logs of projects I've opened with 2019.2
     
  10. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    {"activation":"https://activation.unity3d.com","ads":"https://unityads.unity3d.com/admin","analytics":"https://analytics.cloud.unity3d.com","build":"https://developer.cloud.unity3d.com","build-api":"https://build-api.cloud.unity3d.com","cdp-analytics":"https://prd-lender.cdp.internal.unity3d.com","clouddata":"https://data.cloud.unity3d.com","collab":"https://collab.cloud.unity3d.com","collab-max-files-per-commit":10000,"core":"https://core.cloud.unity3d.com","coreembedded":"https://embedded.cloud.unity3d.com","coreui":"https://developer.cloud.unity3d.com","genesis_api_url":"https://api.unity.com","genesis_service_url":"https://id.unity.com","identity":"https://api.unity.com","portal":"https://id.unity.com","jump":"https://jump.cloud.unity3d.com","license":"https://license.unity3d.com","sso":true,"activity-feed":false,"perf":"https://perf.cloud.unity3d.com","perf-events":"https://a:b@perf-events.cloud.unity3d.com","perf-max-batch-size":"1","perf-max-events":"100","perf-seconds-per-batch":"3","unauthenticatedurl":"/landing","unet":"https://multiplayer.unity3d.com","waitlist":"https://developer.cloud.unity3d.com","waitlist_api":"https://collab-waiting-list.cloud.unity3d.com","webauth":"https://accounts.unity3d.com","socialdashboard":"https://dashboard.heyplayapp.com","seat_required":true,"seatinfourl":"/teams/learn-more","build_upload_api_url":"https://build-artifact-api.cloud.unity3d.com","hub_installer_location":"https://public-cdn.cloud.unity3d.com/hub/prod/","hub-disable-marketing-tips":false}
     
  11. pedro_unity

    pedro_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    172
    Not sure @georgeq, I'll let the team answer that question specifically as I'm not entirely sure on the behaviour, but it doesn't sound "right".
     
  12. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    Thank you...

    I usually have 2 or more instances of Unity open at the same time, often, when I'm stating a new project I have 2 or more copies of the same project for testing purposes, and almost never change those values.
     
  13. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    I started everything again from scratch on 2019.3.2f1, but the camera still not rendering after a ConvertToEntity component is attached.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2020
  14. gwenaelle_unity

    gwenaelle_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    In Tiny right now, we are only converting automatically subscenes. So even if you have a ConvertToEntity component attached to a camera outside of a subscene, the camera won't be converted. Make sure your camera gameobject is in a subscene
     
  15. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    The camera does not render neither outside nor inside the sub-scene.

    I'm getting this error:

    InvalidOperationException: GetSingleton<Unity.Tiny.DisplayInfo>() requires that exactly one Unity.Tiny.DisplayInfo exists but there are 0.
    Unity.Entities.EntityQuery.GetSingleton[T] () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/Iterators/EntityQuery.cs:842)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystemBase.GetSingleton[T] () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystemBase.cs:617)
    Unity.Tiny.Rendering.RenderGraphBuilder.AddRenderToTextureForNode (Unity.Entities.Entity eNode, System.Int32 w, System.Int32 h, System.Boolean color, System.Boolean depth) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.tiny.rendering@0.21.0-preview.4/Runtime/Unity.Tiny.Rendering.Native/RenderGraphBuilder.cs:274)
    Unity.Tiny.Rendering.RenderGraphBuilder.BuildDefaultRenderGraph (System.Int32 w, System.Int32 h, System.Boolean directToFrontBuffer) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.tiny.rendering@0.21.0-preview.4/Runtime/Unity.Tiny.Rendering.Native/RenderGraphBuilder.cs:368)
    Unity.Tiny.Rendering.RenderGraphBuilder.OnUpdate () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.tiny.rendering@0.21.0-preview.4/Runtime/Unity.Tiny.Rendering.Native/RenderGraphBuilder.cs:574)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystem.Update () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystem.cs:107)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystemGroup.UpdateAllSystems () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystemGroup.cs:182)
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogException(Exception)
    Unity.Debug:LogException(Exception) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/Stubs/Unity/Debug.cs:19)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystemGroup:UpdateAllSystems() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystemGroup.cs:186)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystemGroup:OnUpdate() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystemGroup.cs:169)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystem:Update() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystem.cs:107)
    Unity.Entities.DummyDelegateWrapper:TriggerUpdate() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ScriptBehaviourUpdateOrder.cs:152)
     
  16. gwenaelle_unity

    gwenaelle_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    We have released new packages yesterday that should fix this error. Can you update to the preview 0.22 and retry?
     
  17. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    OK, now the camera does render, but I'm getting this error once per frame:

    AssertionException: Assertion failure. Value was False
    Expected: True
    UnityEngine.Assertions.Assert.Fail (System.String message, System.String userMessage) (at <2edddfab525b4f2ba526fcea7fd51cf6>:0)
    UnityEngine.Assertions.Assert.IsTrue (System.Boolean condition, System.String message) (at <2edddfab525b4f2ba526fcea7fd51cf6>:0)
    UnityEngine.Assertions.Assert.IsTrue (System.Boolean condition) (at <2edddfab525b4f2ba526fcea7fd51cf6>:0)
    Unity.Tiny.Authoring.ExportTinyRenderingSettings.OnUpdate () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.tiny.rendering@0.22.0-preview.5/Authoring/Unity.Tiny.Rendering.Authoring/ExportTinyRenderingSettings.cs:17)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystem.Update () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystem.cs:107)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystemGroup.UpdateAllSystems () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystemGroup.cs:182)
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogException(Exception)
    Unity.Debug:LogException(Exception) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/Stubs/Unity/Debug.cs:19)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystemGroup:UpdateAllSystems() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystemGroup.cs:186)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystemGroup:OnUpdate() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystemGroup.cs:169)
    Unity.Entities.ComponentSystem:Update() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ComponentSystem.cs:107)
    Unity.Entities.DummyDelegateWrapper:TriggerUpdate() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.5.1-preview.11/Unity.Entities/ScriptBehaviourUpdateOrder.cs:152)
     
  18. elliotc-unity

    elliotc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Posts:
    155
    We're pretty sure we have a fix for that last callstack coming in the next release, which should be in a day or two at most. Sorry for the inconvenience!
     
    THEOUROBOROS likes this.
  19. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    No problem. I'll let you know how it goes once I can get my hands on the new version.
     
    elliotc-unity likes this.
  20. AbdulAlgharbi

    AbdulAlgharbi

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Posts:
    319
    This issue has been fixed please update your com.unity.tiny.all to 0.22.0-preview.3
     
  21. georgeq

    georgeq

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    636
    OK, Thank you!

    It works fine now.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2020