Search Unity

Camera movement in ARKit

Discussion in 'AR' started by mgaldos87, Sep 19, 2017.

1. mgaldos87

mgaldos87

Hi everyone,

I'm kind of new to the world of AR/VR and have been having trouble getting the camera to act the way I intend it to. Basically, what I want to do is make the AR Camera teleport once it hits a collider.

The way it is set up is, I have a parent object containing a character controller, a rigidbody and a first person controller script. then I have a child object which is the camera, and that one only has the camera with the UnityARVideo and UnityARCameraNearFar scripts.

Now, I can make the teleportation happen in a non-AR environment in Unity by simply attaching a script with a trigger event that will move the camera and the parent object it's under onto a different position on the world. However, when I try to translate this into a scene where I use ARKit, I cannot get the same behavior. My camera simply goes through the collider. Normally I would debug using the console, but since I am on the phone, I have no way of telling what is going on (which bring me to another question --is there a way to debug like this)?

Just to be safe, I tried a different configuration, getting rid of the parent object and attached all components to the AR Camera + a sphere collider to trigger the teleportation. I had no luck either.

I have a couple of suspicions as to why this doesn't work. The first one is that since AR tracks position in both the real and virtual world, if I try to teleport, this might mess with the program since I have physical world coordinates... or something like that, right? Or maybe it is simply that I am missing some sort of component on the camera so that it triggers the event.