Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Call for blender test files

Discussion in 'External Tools' started by Joachim_Ante, Apr 8, 2006.

  1. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    4,714
    We are currently working on improving the blender importer.

    It would be very nice if all the people using Blender could send me some of their blender scenes they are importing, please also include textures when sending the sample files.

    Please use Report Bug.app to send them in. The files will only be used for internal testing purposes.
     
  2. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    4,714
    No one has sent in any blender test files yet.
    I am sure there are a few people interested in improving importing blender models.

    Please help us make sure blender support gets improved and works great.
     
  3. forestjohnson

    forestjohnson

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,370
    I didn't see this until now. I will send in some files through the bug reporter.

    please please please fix the object scale and rotation bug!!
    Also animation support would be awesome etc. I'm sure you know all this already but yeah.
     
  4. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    4,714
    If you have animated objects please send them in.
     
  5. Sync1B

    Sync1B

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    561
    I have some files but there importing fine. There just models, (no ainimation textures, ect) still want them?

    Bill
     
  6. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    4,714
    yes. Send anything. No matter if it imports completely correct right now or not.
     
  7. Snoodleberg

    Snoodleberg

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    Might I ask what precisely is the defenition of

    is? Does this mean animation/rigging/texturing? Are you even going as far as some sort of translation of blender's shaders? What about texture baking?
     
  8. jeremyace

    jeremyace

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,661
    Uh, what exactly do you mean here? Texture baking is done in the 3D app (blender) and the result is an image file. There is no weird process or importer nedded to get that into Unity. Just toss it in. But perhaps I am misunderstanding you?

    I am 99.99999% sure they wont be supporting shaders from any 3D apps for a long time, if ever. Shaders in Unity are optimised for this engine, and OTEE already wrote shaderlab to deal with that.

    -Jeremy
     
  9. Lallander

    Lallander

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Posts:
    429
    So what is the word on getting animations to import from Blender?
    I absolutely love the way Blender is set up, but I haven't put in time to learn how to use it's animation tools due to them not being supported.
     
  10. greenland

    greenland

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    I sent a bunch of models but I'm not positive it actually worked correctly.
    First time it just hung. Second time it says it went, despite the fact that my firewall did not see any network activity from the app. So it was either lying about going through, or youse guys know some mad hax, yo.

    I am thrilled to hear about additional Blender support though. I perfer Blender to 3D applications that cost... eum... infinity times more?

    Would be cool if the importer remembered which faces were set to "flat" and "smooth" normals. TGE never could. You couldent get sharp eges on mechanical objects. It just fudged all the normals into a smooth blob.
     
  11. Jonathan Czeck

    Jonathan Czeck

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,713
    That's worked fine with the existing Blender importer back as far as I can remember.
     
  12. Viking Dan

    Viking Dan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    52
    Worst comes to worst, you can always separate the faces that need to be smooth shaded from those that need to be flat shaded. Group them in Blender and they should stay in the same group on import.
     
  13. Sync1B

    Sync1B

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    561
    Yeah it does work fine, I have models that use that info.

    Bill