Search Unity

Calculating RPG radial movement bounds/range

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by KevinDamore, Sep 29, 2014.

1. KevinDamore

KevinDamore

Hello!

I am a wannabe game developer, 3d art student graduate, diving deep into learning C# programming for just over a year, and am trying to prototype a game idea. I'm having problems figuring out how to calculate a radial range of movement for characters in a turn based RPG. I originally had a projector with the range of movement, but decided I want obstacles to alter the range of movement. I have made several attempts at figuring this out, and while I have a few "solved" methods, no solution has turned out "exactly" how I want it.

In every attempt, I've started by calculating points in a circle around the origin point of my character, and I also cast rays from the character to each point and figure out if there is a collision (Those steps seems to be necessary for any or all methods). The next part (the non-stupid easy part) is what I have trouble with.
    1. I tried Unity's Navigation Mesh, had some success, but the characters' obstacles' shapes on the navmesh are squares, when I'd prefer them to be a circles.
    2. I tried a a method in which I found the furthest visible edge of a collider, and casted another circle out of those points with a reduced range based on how far it is from the character, but this yielded so many points, and I'm not sure how to filter points that are already within my range.
    3. I also tried a* pathfinding; This seemed to be what I need, but I possibly just need to understand it better in order to make it work.

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions to solve this seemingly complex problem?