Search Unity

1. Are you interested in providing feedback directly to Unity teams? Sign up to become a member of Unity Pulse, our new product feedback and research community.
    Dismiss Notice

C# Unity 2D Turret Angle Arc of Rotation script issue.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by GonTar_X, Oct 15, 2018.

1. GonTar_X

GonTar_X

Hello There Fellow Unity Users.

I'm kind of new to C# and i've managed to put together and progress a lot for the basic knowledge i've of C# on this project, i'm working at with a friend.

But i've been hours already frustrating my self trying to fix an issue with the turret system i'm currently using for our Player Ships (imagine it's like a 2D WarShips MP Game with battleships, in this example using turrets to aim n' shoot)

//

The Problem here is, that the Angle Limit (when clamped) is always set to the (world position y)

Wich from a top down 2d game looks like:
    >all player ships arc of fire, are stuck facin the UPwards or Positive Y coordinates.

Instead of having this Arc of Fire (AoF) rotating along with the player ship, it gets stuck restricting rotation on the same V shape looking upwards like this (imagine this is the AoF with the ship pointing Up) \V/ instead of 4 example:

looking like this..

if i turn the ship to the right, the AoF should look like this: <

if i turn the ship to the Left, the AoF should look like this: >

and if we are pointing downwards, it should look like this: /\

is there a way i can get the Arc of Fire to rotate along with the PlayerObject?

Thanks in advance and i hope i was clear enough!

Code (CSharp):
    2. public class PlayerShipTurret : NetworkBehaviour {
    3.     public float speed = 15f;
    4.     public Camera _cam;
    5.     public GameObject turret;
    6.     public float maxrot = 25f;
    7.     public float minrot = -25f;
    8.     void FixedUpdate() {
    9.         if (!isLocalPlayer)
    10.         {
    11.             return;
    12.         }