Search Unity

1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question C++ for security

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tomlugin100, Nov 26, 2023.

1. tomlugin100

tomlugin100

Hello everyone,
    Thank you so much for reading my post! I've been doing some research about hacking into games' leaderboards (high scores) and I've seen it mentioned a few times that because a good C++ decompiler does not exist, it can be a good security feature to use C++ as opposed to a language like Java which has a very good decompiler. Is this true? My apologies if I'm making some error here - I am still a beginner. If I manage to add some C++ to important parts of my Unity game will that be good for security? And on that note, does that mean that using Unreal Engine is inherently more secure than Unity?

2. halley

halley

Security through Obscurity is not security.

There are code decompilers for just about any language, and C++ is no exception. It doesn't take a 100% decompile to reverse-engineer your protocol and figure out how to game your leaderboard. Wireshark or other network sniffers can do half the job without even decompiling anything, and a weak decompiler will easily get them within range of understanding and exploiting your innermost secrets that you foolishly left on the client's machine.

3. CodeSmile

CodeSmile

Security by obscurity is not a feature, and definitely not security. There ARE good decompilers for ANY compiled executable, period. It‘s just that the average developer would see these as hard to work with, but the hacker? Not so much, for them it‘s second nature. This is like what Unity is to the average computer-challenged person. But we have no real issues working with this software.