Search Unity

C# AND javascript

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Levelspawn, Jan 15, 2015.

1. Levelspawn

Levelspawn

we have 2 coders one is well versed in c# and one is well versed in javascript>

My question is, can the languages be mixed like part of the code wrote in c# and part in javascript? it could be a dumb question but I am new to the engine. and I do not know if they mix in the engine or if it has to be done completely in one language. and of course i know each function cant be split but i mean like if i add a feature in c# and they code a feature in js can they both work for the same game

2. drewradley

drewradley

Levelspawn likes this.
  3. Xtro

Xtro

If your experience is low on programming, maybe it's better to switch to C# as early as possible. It's definitely one of the best engineered languages. UnityScript is not even Javascript exactly. Unity team developed their own javascript version to be able to enable javascript developers to use their engine. C# must be the best way to go for a beginner.

Jessy and Ony like this.
  4. Levelspawn

Levelspawn

\I know c# pretty well bro, its him he is only versed in javascript. so maybe I should just tell him to work on learning java? does he have to be really deep into advanced c# to write script for the engine?

5. Ony

Ony

You can mix the two languages as long as pretty much everything c# is in one of the special folders mentioned above.

Where you'll start running into trouble is down the line as your project expands, if you use any outside assets (from the asset store, for instance) in it that are written in c# then you have to also make sure they are in those folders as well. That can get really messy really fast, especially if you plan to update those outside assets. It quickly becomes more of a problem than it's all worth.

So...
    1. Your guy can learn c#, or...
    2. You can try to mix js and c# and hope for the best, or...