Search Unity

Buying PC. What hardware?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Tybomb, Apr 7, 2016.

1. Tybomb

Tybomb

I'm just getting into vr and I'd like to get a pc that can handle it all with ease. I'd like to spend under $2000 (Canadian dollars).
    Mainly I want to get into 3d vr movie making with both stereoscopic cameras and with 3d animation programs like poser, daz studio, 3dsmax etc. I'm not all that interested in gaming but I guess that doesn't matter since it's all interconnected.
    What hardware should I get and what should I be concerned with most?
    Can I get a kick ass 3d tower for the price?

2. Ryiah

Ryiah

If you're primarily interested in virtual reality then you'll want to start with their recommended hardware. With the Oculus Rift that's a Core i5-4590 or greater, at least 8GB of RAM, and a GTX 970 or equivalent.

Just as a heads-up though, if you don't mind waiting a couple months, NVIDIA is preparing to release a new series of graphics cards and from what I understand the next x70 and x80 cards will be among them.

Outside of that though there aren't any meaningful hardware advances coming in a reasonable time frame.

kimdba likes this.
  3. Tybomb

Tybomb

Thanks. I don't know if I can wait for the release. I downloaded the iclone trial and doesn't seem to even want to run on my pc.
    I don't suppose the older cards come down in price significantly when new ones are released?
    I noticed that octane render requires a cuda enabled card. I was hoping to use that program so I guess I better be mindful of that when I buy.

4. Tybomb

Tybomb