Search Unity

  1. Check out the Unite LA keynote for updates on the Visual Effect Editor, the FPS Sample, ECS, Unity for Film and more! Watch it now!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Burst on standalone builds

Discussion in 'Entity Component System and C# Job system' started by rizu, Jun 14, 2018.

  1. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    519
    I've seen many mentions that this will be possible during 2018.2. Is it there yet and if, how does one force standalone build to use it?

    So far I haven't seen any difference on builds if one enables burst from editor so I'm guessing these settings don't carry to the build yet.
     
  2. Afonso-Lage

    Afonso-Lage

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Posts:
    70
    Are you adding the [BrustCompile] attribute on given Job?
     
  3. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    519
    yes and Burst definitely works in the editor.
     
  4. Joachim_Ante

    Joachim_Ante

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    4,172
    Burst standalone support is not yet part of 18.2 beta, we are still aiming to get the necessary changes into 18.2 to enable burst for standalone players.
     
  5. xoofx

    xoofx

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Posts:
    75
    If you are using a very recent version of burst (0.2.4-preview.12) with the latest 2018.2 and trying to build a standalone player, it should work but a bug sneaked into the editor menus in beta 8, so the experience today is not great, as the checkbox in the Jobs menu are wrong and/or inverted.

    We are writing the very last bits of the documentation to make an official release of the AOT mode. It should hopefully come in the coming days, by the end of this month.
     
    rizu and FROS7 like this.
  6. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    519
    Oh wow, Burst indeed works now on standalone, thank you all :)
    Apparently just using the Jobs menu enables/disables burst from standalone as well. Would be nice to have some build setting for it I guess.
     
  7. LennartJohansen

    LennartJohansen

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,806
    Yes. working good for me both with mono and IL2CPP :)
     
  8. xoofx

    xoofx

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Posts:
    75
    I agree. That's something we will improve towards 2018.3
     
    FROS7 and rizu like this.
  9. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    519
    How is SSE/AVX etc targets swapped atm? I know the setting in the Burst inspector, does it carry into builds too? I hope these things will be included in the player etc settings in the future if they are things user can set.

    Of course, I'd love to have that automatic fallback from AVX to SSE too which we discussed earlier (so "auto" would work out of the box for all target platforms) but it's not clear at all what Burst targets atm if you don't touch anythging. I'm assuming SSE2 ?

    In ideal case, you'd be allowed to pick the targets you want to support and Burst would compile variants for all of them with fallbacks to lesser tech.
     
  10. xoofx

    xoofx

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Posts:
    75
    It should be SSE4 by default.
    If you look into the burst source in the BurstAotCompiler.cs, there is the method TryGetTargetPlatform that returns the default target CPU. We will add a proper setting but for this early AOT preview, this is still hardcoded.
     
    rizu likes this.