Search Unity

Official Burn-disappear effect

Discussion in 'Open Projects' started by axandreo, Oct 31, 2020.

1. axandreo

axandreo

Good afternoon, I'm interested in picking up this shader effect in Effects & Particles

The Card Reads:

A shader effect that allows to make an object disappear as if it quickly consumed by fire. To use it on bamboo canes and other objects that can be burned by the Phoenix Chick.

Not to be added to the plain shader graph (Toon): needs to be a different graph. Use Subgraphs to make sure it can be added "in addition" to the normal toon shading.

In addition to the shader, it could have some ash particles flying away (they don't need to match the shape of the object, could be a capsule emitter or box)

I'm new to creating shaders in Unity but I found these helpful resources which I thought might help me:
    1. Brackey's Dissolve tutorial:
    2. Harry Alisavakis Dissolve Shader: https://halisavakis.com/my-take-on-shaders-dissolve-shader/
    3. Brackey's Shader Graph Tutorial:

4. Unity's Shader Graph tutorial: https://learn.unity.com/tutorial/introduction-to-shader-graph#
    If I am assigned this card, I have a few questions:
    • What other resources are available that you think would be helpful?
    • What tips do ya'll have for implementing this?
    • Could you explain this line further? Use Subgraphs to make sure it can be added "in addition" to the normal toon shading.
    • Where in the project do we keep shaders?
    • Recommendations on file structure and naming?

2. Harsh-NJ

Harsh-NJ

I think you should go ahead and start your work, and then commit and open pull request.

In a shaders directory?

and i have also learned from the two above brackeys tutorial.

3. cirocontinisio

cirocontinisio

Hi @biggums, if you want please go ahead and try to come up with an implementation. As with all art tasks, just keep in mind that we're trying to keep it coherent and of a certain quality.