Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Bug Built APK won't run in Quest 2. Just shows 3 loading dots.

Discussion in 'VR' started by joshrs926, Mar 9, 2023.

  1. joshrs926

    joshrs926

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    Posts:
    117
    I cannot get a build to run on Quest 2. I'm using Meta Quest Developer Hub with my Quest 2 connected. The Hub is seeing my device. Builds just show 3 loading dots in the Quest 2.
    Using Unity 2021.3.16f1

    Reproduction steps
    - Create a new Unity project from the VR Core template.
    - Go to Project Settings > Player > XR Plug-in Management > Android build target tab > Set Oculus to true
    - also go to Windows, Mac, and Linux build target tab and Set Oculus to true.
    - Go to Project Settings > Player > XR Plug-in Management > Oculus > Android build target tab > Set Quest and Quest 2 to true. Set Symmetric Projection to false
    - Set Project Settings > Quality > Pixel Light Count to 1
    - Add the sample scene to the build.
    - Switch Build target to Android
    - Set Build Settings > Android > Run Device to your connected Quest 2 (click refresh if you don't see it)
    - Build And Run

    When I do this, the build completes with no errors and my Quest 2 (which was previously showing the home environment) shows a loading screen with 3 white dots whose light levels are animating. It never changes from this screen. I can click the home button on the controller to go back to the home and uninstall the app.

    I've reported a bug. Bug ticket is IN-34744

    Does anyone have any ideas how to solve this?
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2023
  2. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    5,251
    1. Update Unity? (you didnt state which version you use)
    2. Which graphics API? If vulkan, make sure graphics jobs is off
     
  3. joshrs926

    joshrs926

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    Posts:
    117
    @DevDunk Thanks for the reply I was just looking at a post of yours on this topic. I'm using Unity 2021.3.16f1 but my team doesn't want to update versions at the moment. My coworkers are able to build and run in Quest just fine using the same version. For some reason my set up isn't working. I'll probably try updating just to see what happens though. Graphics jobs is off. No luck there.
     
  4. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    5,251
  5. Clavarde

    Clavarde

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, I've got the same problem.
    I working on Unity 2021.3.19f1 and I'm trying to make builds for the Quest 2 and when the application starts I just have the 3 dots of loading.
    I'm in the same git project and version as my coworkers and their build has no problems to execute on the same Quest 2.
     
  6. XSpitFire

    XSpitFire

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    I have the same issue and do not seem to make any progress
     
  7. luis_unity981

    luis_unity981

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    Same issue! Only happens with dev builds
     
  8. Thomas-Mountainborn

    Thomas-Mountainborn

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Posts:
    510
    I'm seeing the same. Unity 2022.3.12f1, using Unity's OpenXR runtime for Quest.
     
  9. nightshadow

    nightshadow

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    any solution am having it with 2022.3.6f1
     
  10. Thomas-Mountainborn

    Thomas-Mountainborn

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Posts:
    510
    I only got it to work using the Oculus integration rather than the Unity OpenXR package.
     
  11. MaltheEmil

    MaltheEmil

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    Same problem with 3 infinite loading dots on meta quest 3, unity 2022.3.6f1. Getting the warning:


    Missing script for MonoBehaviour or ScriptableObject "UnityEngine.XR.Management.XRManagerSettings", InstanceID: 29804
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent (int,intptr,bool&)

    Nothing seams to fix it... ;(
     
  12. Gangog

    Gangog

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    This helped me remove three loading points on Quest 2 154251.png
     
    Pseudonym-Username likes this.
  13. Petricevic

    Petricevic

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    Posts:
    7
    I get the three dots only when creating a Development Build.
     
  14. haokah

    haokah

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2022
    Posts:
    5
    It looks like the problem is coming from Vulkan.
    I managed to build my app as Development Build on Meta Quest 2 by forcing the Graphics API to OpenGLES3.

    To do this, go to Edit > Project Settings > Player > Android, then untick "Auto Graphics API" and bring OpenGLES3 to the top of the list.

    upload_2024-2-22_12-49-6.png
     
  15. Nickjd331

    Nickjd331

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Posts:
    30
    Hi,

    Did anyone find a solution for this when already using the Oculus SDK and already using non-dev builds.

    I have vulkan disabled and still see endless 3 dots.
     
  16. CharlesWard

    CharlesWard

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Posts:
    33
    One thing you can do to help troubleshoot issues like these is to look at the Android logs from the device. The Android logcat package lets you see them in Unity, or you can use the Android tools directly. There is a lot of "noise" in these logs, but typically you can find a clue as to why an application can't launch successfully.