Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity wants to learn about your experiences working on a Unity project today. We'd like to hear from you via this survey.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Read here for Unity's latest plans on OpenXR.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Building Without Metal

Discussion in 'AR' started by DreamEnder, Aug 8, 2018.

  1. DreamEnder

    DreamEnder

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Posts:
    190
    I'm trying to build without Metal and I'm getting this linker error:

    Undefined symbols for architecture arm64:

    "_MTLCreateSystemDefaultDevice", referenced from:

    ARKitXRCameraProvider::SetupMetal() in UnityARKit.a(ARKitXRCameraProvider.o)

    ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture arm64

    clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
     
  2. tdmowrer

    tdmowrer

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Posts:
    602
    The ARKit XR Plugin currently requires metal.

    Could you explain your use case for not using Metal a bit more?
     
  3. DreamEnder

    DreamEnder

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Posts:
    190
  4. Ikaro88

    Ikaro88

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Posts:
    150
    Hi, i need to build without metal because some extenal sdk not support it....there is a way to not use metal in arkit?
     
  5. mfuad

    mfuad

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Posts:
    305
    Ikaro88 likes this.
  6. Ikaro88

    Ikaro88

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Posts:
    150
    Hi Thanks a for for your time.

    Since metal create some problem with my recording video sdk, there is a way to control the graphics API at runtime instead?
     
  7. mfuad

    mfuad

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Posts:
    305
    Hey @Ikaro88, switching graphics API at runtime is not supported.
     
    Ikaro88 likes this.
unityunity