Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Building WebGL from OS X?

Discussion in 'Unity 5 Pre-order Beta' started by StarManta, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    8,758
    Is it possible to build a WebGL project from OS X? I ask mostly because, if it's supposed to be, this is a rather silly error to get....
     
  2. RalphH

    RalphH

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Posts:
    592
    It is possible, but during beta we're still finding enough bugs ;-)

    I'm assuming this is not an empty project you are trying to build, in which case, I'd ask you to file a bug with the project, so we can see why the stripper is failing.
     
  3. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,401
    It's possible; works here (10.9.5).

    --Eric
     
  4. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    8,758
    Seems weird that it would build for some and not for others. What would possibly make it call this "UnusedBytecodeStripper2.exe" sometimes but not all the time?

    One possibility that occurred to me was different languages being used. The project I tested was testing some image effects, which are of course written in javascript. (while my own controller scripts were in C#) But, I tried building it again after deleting those scripts, and got the same error. So no help there.

    Here's my bug report.
     
  5. jonas-echterhoff

    jonas-echterhoff

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,666
    We call UnusedBytecodeStripper2.exe all the time, but it may fail on your particular project :)

    Thanks for the bug report, we will look into it.
     
  6. StarManta

    StarManta

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    8,758
    I mean why would it be called on Mac only this one time....