Search Unity

  1. Calling all beginners! Join the FPS Beginners Mods Challenge until December 13.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. It's Cyber Week at the Asset Store!
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Building Assetbundles hangs indefinitely while building on a mac with the -batchmode option set

Discussion in 'Testing & Automation' started by MagicDesignEmerick, Aug 14, 2019.

  1. MagicDesignEmerick

    MagicDesignEmerick

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    We're trying to setup a mac mini to use as a secondary buildstation. Our current jenkins setup works on windows, but after our adjustements for mac environment, we've had jobs being stuck on the bundle building process.
    While trying to inspect where this behavior comes from, we tried to remove the -batchmode option, but with that unset the builds never hang anymore.

    Unfortunately, while that fixes our builds, it's not a viable solution as we can always have some popup blocking execution. Is this a known issue?
     
  2. liortal

    liortal

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,333
    Do you have any editor logs? do you know which part of the process hangs?
     
  3. MagicDesignEmerick

    MagicDesignEmerick

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    Yeah, all our build logs end like this :
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. Script Compilation Pipeline Post Process Assets time: 0.000011s
    3. Assembly Updater Post Process Assets time: 0.000013s
    4.  
    5. Hashing assets (1 files)... 0.000 seconds
    6.   file read: 0.000 seconds (0.001 MB)
    7.   wait for write: 0.000 seconds (I/O thread blocked by consumer, aka CPU bound)
    8.   wait for read: 0.000 seconds (CPUT thread waiting for I/O thread, aka disk bound)
    9.   hash: 0.000 seconds
    10. Connect to CacheServer unity-cache.mds.com:8126
    11. Script Compilation Pipeline Post Process Assets time: 0.000007s
    12. Assembly Updater Post Process Assets time: 0.000017s
    13. Unloading 907 Unused Serialized files (Serialized files now loaded: 0)
    14. System memory in use before: 0.61 GB.
    15. System memory in use after: 0.61 GB.
    16.  
    17. Unloading 1354 unused Assets to reduce memory usage. Loaded Objects now: 13123.
    18. Total: 20.412698 ms (FindLiveObjects: 1.578099 ms CreateObjectMapping: 0.828326 ms MarkObjects: 17.017840 ms  DeleteObjects: 0.987366 ms)
    19.  
    20. Disconnect from CacheServer
    21. Refreshing native plugins compatible for Editor in 20.14 ms, found 3 plugins.
    22. Preloading 1 native plugins for Editor in 0.95 ms.
    23. DisplayProgressbar: Switch To Build Platform
    24. DisplayProgressbar: Rebuild Sprite Atlas Cache
    25. - Collect Sprites to Pack : (SequentialAtlasing : 0)
    26. [    153 MB ]- Grouping sprites using the selected SpritePackerPolicy.
    27. [    337 MB ]-     Atlas "Credits" with 48 sprites assigned.
    28. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "FMLogos" with 9 sprites assigned.
    29. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "MobileHUD" with 26 sprites assigned.
    30. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "MobileLevel" with 10 sprites assigned.
    31. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "OptionsButtons" with 13 sprites assigned.
    32. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "PauseButtons" with 1 sprites assigned.
    33. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "PhotoMode" with 3 sprites assigned.
    34. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "RewiredControlMapper" with 6 sprites assigned.
    35. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "RewiredTouchControls" with 19 sprites assigned.
    36. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "SCLogos" with 5 sprites assigned.
    37. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "TTLogos" with 9 sprites assigned.
    38. [    338 MB ]-     Atlas "UWLogos" with 5 sprites assigned.
    39. [    338 MB ]- Completed grouping sprites to Atlas.
    40. [    337 MB ]- Build Sprite Atlas.
    41. [    338 MB ]- Packing 12 atlases.
    42. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (Credits) file (9d4ef739a61812b025c5ef88a8f0ef1a) found. Mapping.
    43. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (FMLogos) file (3b290c2ddc903581b6d9002ea451b0a9) found. Mapping.
    44. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (MobileHUD) file (f33d20fe0d1eec2021a6fa8c30815a10) found. Mapping.
    45. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (MobileLevel) file (1ce2b69f119a2a729361eb84673beb65) found. Mapping.
    46. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (OptionsButtons) file (0e20c3669114f610264ea5f3415bf1b2) found. Mapping.
    47. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (PauseButtons) file (961576b59ab91aa39a01a4105c14b823) found. Mapping.
    48. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (PhotoMode) file (7b3a43539a31e9ed5b60be43811be271) found. Mapping.
    49. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (RewiredControlMapper) file (5432541406f533b2540dd8e2c8d900a9) found. Mapping.
    50. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (RewiredTouchControls) file (4999311b2d168d19c811666a5cea57cc) found. Mapping.
    51. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (SCLogos) file (28ea1d1268b114efc64bba5ba5751300) found. Mapping.
    52. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (TTLogos) file (fb12a045c559fc3df3b329d050b301a0) found. Mapping.
    53. [    338 MB ]- Atlas (UWLogos) file (66bdefea8a90296756e4f0a91c33d044) found. Mapping.
    54. [    338 MB ]- Packing completed.
    55. [    337 MB ]- Update Sprites and Cleanup.
    56. [    337 MB ]DisplayProgressbar: Build Player Scripts
    57. - Starting compile Library/ScriptAssemblies/Unity.ResourceManager.dll
    58. - Starting compile Library/ScriptAssemblies/Unity.Analytics.DataPrivacy.dll
    59. - Starting compile Library/ScriptAssemblies/Unity.MemoryProfiler.dll
    60. - Starting compile Library/ScriptAssemblies/Unity.ScriptableBuildPipeline.dll
    61. - Starting compile Library/ScriptAssemblies/Unity.PackageManagerUI.Editor.dll
    62. - Starting compile Library/ScriptAssemblies/UnityEditor.CacheServer.dll
    63. - Starting compile Library/ScriptAssemblies/Unity.EditorCoroutines.Editor.dll
    64.  
    This is when the assetbundle are starting their actual building, as far as I know (last message we have is from Addressables working on creating the content catalog).

    So it never finish to compile any dll, but it manages to do actual builds if we make it skip the bundle part.
     
  4. aurelien-morel-ubiant

    aurelien-morel-ubiant

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    251
    @MagicDesignEmerick I glad to see someone else having this issue !
    Is it random or a 100 repro case ?

    @liortal from our side it seems to hang at a similar place than them. In the "Starting compile" part.

    It seems quite similar to one of mine link in this post :
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/com...mpiler-is-sometimes-stucked-during-ci.705095/

    On our side it's totally random and not due to asset bundles sadly but it really looks like the same issue !
    At least maybe if we are at least 2 some unity guys will check this and if you have a 100% repro case it could be super !

    So I have some questions :
    Which MacOS do you have ?
    Which Unity version do you use ?

    I don't think it's due to Unity version cause it's happening on all our 2018 testing version. But just in case I prefer to mention it again here.
     
  5. MagicDesignEmerick

    MagicDesignEmerick

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    We have this every time, as long as we're on batchmode.

    We're on Unity 2018.3.13f1, on Mojave 10.14.6.
     
    aurelien-morel-ubiant likes this.
  6. aurelien-morel-ubiant

    aurelien-morel-ubiant

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    251
    If you have a 100% repro don't hesitate to send their the bug report with your project and the explanation to recreate your case.
    From our side it's quite random so it's barely impossible to create a bug report that would be valid for Unity QA :/
     
  7. ElvisAlistar

    ElvisAlistar

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Posts:
    224
    If someone does have a repro and submits a bug report, please post the bug report number here, so we can follow up.
     
  8. aurelien-morel-ubiant

    aurelien-morel-ubiant

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Posts:
    251
    @ElvisAlistar from my side it's too random to create a repro with 100% but if @MagicDesignEmerick can give you a 100% it could be perfect cause it looks like to our random bug during automation process.
     
  9. fanus

    fanus

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Has there been any updates to this? Or a link to the bug?

    I'm on Unity 2018.4.12f1. I'm suspecting it has to do with Addressables since this is the first project where I make use of it and I haven't encountered this issue before.