Search Unity

Build script cannot find "MenuItem"

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by H0lger, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. H0lger

    H0lger

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I tried to do a setup script for my builds. The menu item gets displayed. As soon as I click on the Item, it is fetching some results for my platform but then crashes with errors like:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Assets/Scripts/ProjectBuilder.cs(8,6): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `MenuItem' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?
    2.  
    3. Assets/Scripts/ProjectBuilder.cs(11,9): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `BuildPlayerOptions' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?
    4.  
    5. Assets/Scripts/ProjectBuilder.cs(12,9): error CS0841: A local variable `buildPlayerOptions' cannot be used before it is declared
    6.  
    7. Assets/Scripts/ProjectBuilder.cs(14,9): error CS0103: The name `BuildPipeline' does not exist in the current context
    8.  
    I do not know why it is unable to find those classes after clicking that menu item. I am using Unity 2018.1.2f1 . See below the complete build script. It is basically copied from https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/BuildPipeline.BuildPlayer.html (Or also https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/BuildPlayerPipeline.html)

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. using UnityEditor;
    3. using System.Diagnostics;
    4. public class ProjectBuilder {
    5.     [MenuItem("CustomScripts/Build Android")]
    6.     public static void BuildAndroid()
    7.     {
    8.         BuildPlayerOptions buildPlayerOptions = new BuildPlayerOptions();
    9.         buildPlayerOptions.scenes = new[] { "Assets/MainScene.unity" };
    10.         buildPlayerOptions.locationPathName = "builds/AndroidBuild";
    11.         buildPlayerOptions.target = BuildTarget.Android;
    12.         buildPlayerOptions.options = BuildOptions.None;
    13.         BuildPipeline.BuildPlayer(buildPlayerOptions);
    14.     }
    15. }
    16.  
    Does anyone know what is going wrong? Seems to be a beginners mistake somekind of..
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2018
  2. H0lger

    H0lger

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    That was a beginners question indeed. If you get those errors you have to put the script inside the editor folder. "Assets/Editor/ProjectBuilder.cs" did the trick.
     
  3. jlapine_scott

    jlapine_scott

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks for posting the answer.
     
  4. DiegoCN

    DiegoCN

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks for the answer.
     
  5. richard-frank-movile

    richard-frank-movile

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Wow! Its extremely useful! Thx so much!
     
  6. YoyoMario

    YoyoMario

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks!
     
  7. Ukins

    Ukins

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks a lot
     
  8. SVorgs

    SVorgs

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks a lot
     
  9. kmithun9

    kmithun9

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks :)
     
  10. mrmeizongo

    mrmeizongo

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you.
     
  11. suryavj

    suryavj

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    BUt i got the same error even i put y script in editor folder
     
    Tubestorm likes this.
  12. Tubestorm

    Tubestorm

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    6
    were you able to fix this problem.
     
  13. jubaerjams8548

    jubaerjams8548

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Posts:
    41
    if the same thing happens then click on that error and then automatically a file will be marked in 'Project" TAB and delete that file and build your project again. that worked for me
     
  14. Baylamon

    Baylamon

    Joined:
    May 16, 2019
    Posts:
    13
    For my project I had to use Assets/Scripts/Editor.
    Maybe since I have all scripts in Assets/Scripts.
     
    john10mwangi likes this.
  15. RohitNutalapati

    RohitNutalapati

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Skull55_55 likes this.
  16. maurofuentes

    maurofuentes

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you all!
     
  17. aziz728

    aziz728

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you very much
     
  18. Balddog123

    Balddog123

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    amazing how the actions of one person can change the lives of so many. Thanks for the solution!
     
  19. deft1991

    deft1991

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    That you so much!!!!!!
     
  20. Piotrone

    Piotrone

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    36
    So helpful! Thank you!
     
  21. tokar_dev

    tokar_dev

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    I faced with build-compile errors where editor-assembly was setup incorrectly.
    In case if you have editor-assembly check `Editor` checkbox in `Platforms` section.