Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Build Failure:Unable to retrieve device properties in Unity 4.2.1

Discussion in 'Android' started by Nitrohex, Nov 25, 2013.

  1. Nitrohex

    Nitrohex

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    58
    Hello,

    I have this issue in Unity 4.2.1 when i try to build and run on a device.
    Device is Huawei T-Mobile Move Balance and it has Android 2.3.5, unknown sources and usb debugging are checked.

    Does someone knows a solution to this?

    Thanks

    Unity Log:
    Error building Player: CommandInvokationFailure: Unable to retrieve device properties. Please make sure the Android SDK is installed and is properly configured in the Editor. See the Console for more details.
    F:/Android Development/Android SDK/adt\platform-tools\adb.exe -s � shell getprop

    stderr[
    error: device not found
    ]
    stdout[


    ]


    logcat:

    [2013-12-02 17:22:56 - UnityPlayerProxyActivity] Installing UnityPlayerProxyActivity.apk...
    [2013-12-02 17:23:02 - UnityPlayerProxyActivity] Success!
    [2013-12-02 17:23:02 - UnityPlayerProxyActivity] Starting activity com.ugu.hjbj.UnityPlayerProxyActivity on device Š
    [2013-12-02 17:23:03 - UnityPlayerProxyActivity] ActivityManager: Starting: Intent { act=android.intent.action.MAIN cat=[android.intent.category.LAUNCHER] cmp=com.ugu.hjbj/.UnityPlayerProxyActivity }

    and app crashes on the device.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2013
  2. Nitrohex

    Nitrohex

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    58
    Bump.
    Please if anyone knows a solution to this, i'm really stuck here...
     
  3. Agent_007

    Agent_007

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Posts:
    899
    If you do Start -> Run -> cmd
    then type
    Code (csharp):
    1. "F:\Android Development\Android SDK\adt\platform-tools\adb.exe" -s shell getprop
    what does the console say?
     
  4. Nitrohex

    Nitrohex

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    58
    Nothing, only help commands are shown, but i'm guessing i need to write the device name between -s and shell...
    How can i get the correct device name?
     
  5. tachyonix

    tachyonix

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Hi,
    I had the same problem with a HTC and I found this solution:
    http://visualgdb.com/adbfix/
    I hope it will also work with your Huawei.
     
  6. Nitrohex

    Nitrohex

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    58
    I have installed adb fixer but its not finding any issues with the adb.exe on the device...
     
  7. Nitrohex

    Nitrohex

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    58
    Has anyone successfully tested on this kind of device (Huawei T-Mobile Move Balance) ?
     
  8. bartleycollin

    bartleycollin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    88
    If anyone has figured this out, I would be glad to know how to fix it. I'm in the process of using BFS Google Play Games Services plugin to add Leaderboards, Achievements Etc to my game. Now, when I try to build I get this exact error. Any ideas? :)
     
  9. lordzargon

    lordzargon

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    I found just killing the process "adb.exe" from the Windows Task Manager fixed this for me!

    (HTC One S)
     
    Itschotsch, Eloren, chuck666 and 10 others like this.
  10. Sagnik

    Sagnik

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    This Worked for mee tooooo...........thanks dude
     
    xhazes and usedtobeadoctor like this.
  11. SeAlKh

    SeAlKh

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, i have same problem, but in different case:
    Error building Player: CommandInvokationFailure: Unable to retrieve device properties. Please make sure the Android SDK is installed and is properly configured in the Editor. See the Console for more details.
    C:/Users/sealkh/AppData/Local/Android/android-sdk\platform-tools\adb.exe -s CKT X shell getprop

    my deviceId contain space inside and this command works fine if id enclosed in quotes like this:
    C:/Users/sealkh/AppData/Local/Android/android-sdk\platform-tools\adb.exe -s "CKT X" shell getprop

    But how i can make unity to put quotes there? ;)
     
  12. mrboembastic

    mrboembastic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Posts:
    14
    Was on this problem for 4 hours, thanks! worked!
     
    arctushar likes this.
  13. Niftiyev

    Niftiyev

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Just restart your android device
     
  14. NachoLarreta

    NachoLarreta

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks very much!!, i kill process abd.exe and reset my android device and work!!
     
  15. SenchenYin

    SenchenYin

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem with you,
    "
    Unity Log:
    Error building Player: CommandInvokationFailure: Unable to retrieve device properties. Please make sure the Android SDK is installed and is properly configured in the Editor. See the Console for more details.
    F:/Android Development/Android SDK/adt\platform-tools\adb.exe -s � shell getprop
    "
    I know it's funny but it actually worked after I re-plugged in the USB, however you should check the SDK manager first to make sure that your Android SDK is already installed.

    Because, even if you have installed them through the path "open Android Studio>configure>SDK manager" and the status have showed that "installed", it still doesn't mean that the SDK has installed successfully. So you need to go to the Android SDK Location (where the SDK folder is located), open the "SDK manager" in this path, then check the install status in details.
    Like this, in "picture1", (when you open Android Studio>configure>SDK manager), the status shows "installed",
    upload_2017-1-10_11-14-39.png
    upload_2017-1-10_11-8-22.png
    picture 1

    However, when you go to the Android SDK Location (where the SDK folder is located, as "picture2" below),
    after you open the SDK manager in this folder, it shows that the install status is "not compatible". (as ''picture3' below)
    upload_2017-1-10_11-0-32.png
    picture 2: Android SDK Location (where the SDK folder is located)

    upload_2017-1-10_11-2-31.png
    picture 3

    So you need to check in details and re-install the failed ones.

    Finally, don't forget to re-plugged the USB or restart your SDK manager or your phone to reload data.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
    ElBuho likes this.
  16. NumanF

    NumanF

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same problem, too. I tried all the ways up there but nothing changed. After several days I looked to the developer settings and I found something and it worked for me.
    Developer Options > Turn on "Install via USB" option.
    And after that, I restarted my device and unity and I killed the adb.exe from task manager.
     
  17. SachinGanesh

    SachinGanesh

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Hi, I had this same problem. I just disabled and reenabled Developer Mode in my phone. Then it worked!
     
  18. CYJu

    CYJu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I had same issue. Just solve as below.

    [ In my case
    a. Galaxy Note 9
    b. "Build" is working well, but "Build and Run" is not working ]

    1. enable the developer option on the phone.
    Still same issue.
    2. install the USB driver (language US English).
    It worked well.
     
  19. user6116

    user6116

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    I fixed it on mine by resetting the adb. Issuing different commands like these can stop and restart the adb to USB mode

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools\adb" kill-server
    pause
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools\adb" tcpip 5555
    pause
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools\adb" kill-server
    pause
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools\adb" usb
    pause
     
  20. xhazes

    xhazes

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Worked for me too
     
  21. chuck666

    chuck666

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Worked on Samsung Galaxy S9+ !!! =)

    After killing adb.exe, the dialog to connect the device showed up and it detected the device and build successful.

    Thanks a lot!
     
  22. BobbyDoogle

    BobbyDoogle

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Worked for me too (killing adb.exe) however I wasn't needing to do this prior. Galaxy S9)
     
  23. mosahaq

    mosahaq

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I am having the same problem so when I run adb fix I browse for the SDK location and it is not there can someone help.
     
  24. ascavalcante80

    ascavalcante80

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Me, I had the same error, but I've made I stupid mistake: I was trying to create a build for an Android version which I didn't have installed on my computer. I've used Android Studio to do it, and it works.
     
  25. zane-bookbinder

    zane-bookbinder

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Seems like the problem is already solved for most people but for me I just had to unplug the usb from the phone and then redo it. I had been saying no to this popup asking me if I wanted to share data, but after saying yes the build worked.