Search Unity

Build error with Burst & Entity Subscene

Discussion in 'Burst' started by alexchesser, Dec 23, 2019.

  1. alexchesser

    alexchesser

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    147
    Using 2019.3.0f3 I put together a VR demo scene and got it working. (No small task with the newest XR SDK and Oculus Quest, yay me!)

    In order to see if I could be even MORE fancy I decided to install the burst, DOTS, & Entity packages

    This is a lot of bleeding edge stuff ... see attached manifest.json.

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. {
    2.   "dependencies": {
    3.     "com.havok.physics": "0.1.1-preview",
    4.     "com.unity.burst": "1.1.2",
    5.     "com.unity.collab-proxy": "1.2.16",
    6.     "com.unity.entities": "0.4.0-preview.10",
    7.     "com.unity.ide.rider": "1.1.4",
    8.     "com.unity.ide.vscode": "1.1.3",
    9.     "com.unity.platforms.android": "0.1.7-preview.6",
    10.     "com.unity.test-framework": "1.1.3",
    11.     "com.unity.textmeshpro": "2.0.1",
    12.     "com.unity.timeline": "1.2.6",
    13.     "com.unity.ugui": "1.0.0",
    14.     "com.unity.xr.management": "3.0.5",
    15.     "com.unity.xr.oculus": "1.1.4",
    16.     "com.unity.modules.ai": "1.0.0",
    17.     "com.unity.modules.androidjni": "1.0.0",
    18.     "com.unity.modules.animation": "1.0.0",
    19.     "com.unity.modules.assetbundle": "1.0.0",
    20.     "com.unity.modules.audio": "1.0.0",
    21.     "com.unity.modules.cloth": "1.0.0",
    22.     "com.unity.modules.director": "1.0.0",
    23.     "com.unity.modules.imageconversion": "1.0.0",
    24.     "com.unity.modules.imgui": "1.0.0",
    25.     "com.unity.modules.jsonserialize": "1.0.0",
    26.     "com.unity.modules.particlesystem": "1.0.0",
    27.     "com.unity.modules.physics": "1.0.0",
    28.     "com.unity.modules.physics2d": "1.0.0",
    29.     "com.unity.modules.screencapture": "1.0.0",
    30.     "com.unity.modules.terrain": "1.0.0",
    31.     "com.unity.modules.terrainphysics": "1.0.0",
    32.     "com.unity.modules.tilemap": "1.0.0",
    33.     "com.unity.modules.ui": "1.0.0",
    34.     "com.unity.modules.uielements": "1.0.0",
    35.     "com.unity.modules.umbra": "1.0.0",
    36.     "com.unity.modules.unityanalytics": "1.0.0",
    37.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequest": "1.0.0",
    38.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestassetbundle": "1.0.0",
    39.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestaudio": "1.0.0",
    40.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequesttexture": "1.0.0",
    41.     "com.unity.modules.unitywebrequestwww": "1.0.0",
    42.     "com.unity.modules.vehicles": "1.0.0",
    43.     "com.unity.modules.video": "1.0.0",
    44.     "com.unity.modules.vr": "1.0.0",
    45.     "com.unity.modules.wind": "1.0.0",
    46.     "com.unity.modules.xr": "1.0.0"
    47.   }
    48. }
    49.  
    With a previously working scene, I did *two* additional steps which was to convert the environment to a subscene (not a terrain, but instead just a demo-city from an asset store package) and ADD that subscene to the player build settings.

    Annotation 2019-12-23 000418.png

    I've attached a copy and paste of the build errors, but the two main ones seem to be:

    Loading Entity Scene failed because the entity header file could not be found: 8d06a284c9ca2dd45a617e353ba59ed3

    and

    Cannot find the field `TypeInfos` required for supporting TypeManager intrinsics in burst
    at Unity.Entities.TypeManager.GetTypeInfo(int typeIndex)

    It's getting late so I'm calling it a night, but does anyone have experience with these two errors in this context? I'm sure it's something simple-ish.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. fabrizio_unity

    fabrizio_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    47
    Hello,
    i'm not sure what is triggering the Entity scene error, but the burst issue is shown because you are using burst 1.1.2 version which does not supporting TypeManager. Could you please try to upgrade burst to 1.2.0-preview.11 and let us know if at least the burst issue gets fixed?

    Thanks
     
    alexchesser likes this.
  3. alexchesser

    alexchesser

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    147
    @fabrizio_unity that looks like it fixed all errors! Thanks I'm happily building again :)


    ooops spoke to soon. have new errors. will have to read and report back.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2019
  4. alexchesser

    alexchesser

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    147
    So with the BURST package upgraded to the newest preview build, I've got three (or four) new errors.

    In order to try and isolate just the BURST portion I eliminated the CONVERT-TO-SUBSCENE and attempted to run in the editor.

    1
    Unexpected exception Burst.Options.OptionException: Unexpected arguments: `--is-for-function-pointer --managed-function-pointer=0x000001A970908640`
    at Burst.Compiler.IL.Jit.JitCompilerService.Compile (Burst.Compiler.IL.Jit.JitCompilerService+CompileJob job) [0x0012a] in <3179d4839c86430ca331f2949f40ede5>:0
    While compiling job: Unity.Entities.StructuralChange, (etc..)​
    2
    InvalidOperationException: Burst failed to compile the function pointer `Void AddComponentEntitiesBatchExecute(Unity.Entities.EntityComponentStore*, Unity.Collections.LowLevel.Unsafe.UnsafeList*, Int32)`​
    3
    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Unity.Entities.World.Dispose () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.4.0-preview.10/Unity.Entities/World.cs:146)
    Unity.Entities.World.DisposeAllWorlds () (at ​

    as a test I tried making sure unsafe code was enabled in the player settings, but that doesn't change anything

    If I add back the CONVERT-TO-SUBSCENE I also get something from the Hybrid Renderer

    Loading GameObjectEntity in Playmode but there is no active World
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogError(Object)
    Unity.Debug:LogError(Object) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.4.0-preview.10/Unity.Entities/Stubs/Unity/Debug.cs:13)
    Unity.Entities.DefaultWorldInitialization:DefaultLazyEditModeInitialize() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.4.0-preview.10/Unity.Entities.Hybrid/Injection/DefaultWorldInitialization.cs:228)
    Unity.Scenes.SubScene:OnEnable() (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.entities@0.4.0-preview.10/Unity.Scenes.Hybrid/SubScene.cs:136)​



    What's really nice is that the APK will actually *BUILD* now ... the drawback is of course that nothing actually works :)
     

    Attached Files: