Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

[Bug] Unity Hub not launching at all

Discussion in 'Unity Hub Preview' started by OrthrusTom, Jun 25, 2018.

  1. OrthrusTom

    OrthrusTom

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Hi. I've encountered an issue where Unity Hub simply doesn't seem to launch. If I double-click my desktop shortcut, my cursor gets a brief loading-icon, but the Hub will not launch. The same thing happens if I go to the .exe via file browser. I've also tried uninstalling Hub - as well as all my versions of Unity, restarting my computer, deleting my Unity pro seats, and turning off Windows Defender - the only antivirus I have on this machine.

    I've been using the Hub since around January 2018 with no issues. This problem appeared out of nowhere this morning, after returning to work following the weekend. Two out-of-the-ordinary things might be relevant:

    1. It seems I left my work PC on over the weekend. I normally switch it off, but this could have allowed Windows to install an unwanted update while I was away. However, I see a handful of Windows Defender updates over the weekend, but no system update.

    2. This weekend I installed Hub on my home PC for the first time. But I don't think I linked my professional Unity account to that Hub.

    Other than that, there's really not much information I can provide on reproduction. My steps are simple:

    1. Turn on my computer and log into my Windows account.
    2. Double-click the Unity Hub desktop icon.
    3. The cursor shows a loading icon for about 5 seconds, and the task manager shows a rise in CPU usage, but the program does not appear. No errors appear either, and the task is not visible in Task Manager.
     
  2. karalaine

    karalaine

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Same issue here. Was working previously. Maybe related Windows 10 updates?
    Launching from Command Line prints:
    Checking for update
     
  3. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    150
    Hi there,

    Sorry for the inconvenience.
    Would you please send me your log file through direct message?
    Logs are here: %UserProfile%\AppData\Roaming\UnityHub\logs

    (please also include the link to this thread in your DM)

    I will take a look into it and I will back to you.

    Best,
    Afshin
     
  4. ElinH

    ElinH

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem here.
    I tried to uninstall unity hub and reinstall it. But its not opening.
    Any updates?
     
  5. OrthrusTom

    OrthrusTom

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Nothing yet. Just waiting for Afshinity to look at the log.
     
  6. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    150
  7. OrthrusTom

    OrthrusTom

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    No luck for me, and ipconfig is recognised in cmd.

    I did notice that my "PATH" was named "Path", and that my system directory was under "%SystemRoot%\system32" instead of the regular path. But fixing these did not allow Unity Hub to open.
     
  8. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    150
    I am wondering if you have the same issue with 0.18.1 that we released last Friday.
     
  9. OrthrusTom

    OrthrusTom

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Still no luck :(
     
  10. OrthrusTom

    OrthrusTom

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    I managed to fix it by doing what this user did https://forum.unity.com/threads/unity-hub-wont-open.527795/

    Seems that the COMSPEC environment variable had something wrong with it. You can verify this by typing %COMSPEC% into your file explorer. If it doesn't open up cmd, you likely have the same issue.

    So I deleted comspec, and launched Hub (which opened for the first time in a month). Then I re-added comspec from a list of default path variables online, making sure it was correct. Hub still launched, and I can also launch cmd by typing %COMSPEC% into file browser.

    I'm working on a hand-me-down machine that was used by other co-workers in the past and hasn't had a fresh install of windows, so who knows when the environment variables might have been messed up.

    Hopefully this helps anyone else with the issue. Thanks for looking into the problem, afshinity :)
     
  11. Evil-Otaku

    Evil-Otaku

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Posts:
    20
    My issue was also System Variable related.

    In my case it was the PATHEXT user variable did not contain .EXE. This was overriding the PATHEXT System Variable.
    Deleting the PATHEXT user variable will also fix this.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2018 at 11:34 PM
  12. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    150
    Hi everyone,
    We found the root cause of the issue, and a fix is on its way.
    Sorry for the inconvenience.

    Best,
    Afshin