Search Unity

Bug: missing line numbers in 2018.4.1f1

Discussion in 'Unity Cloud Diagnostics' started by petey123567, May 30, 2019.

  1. petey123567

    petey123567

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Hi, we've been using the cloud diagnostics (performance reporting) in 5.6.2 and 2018.2.5 and had no problems, but we're trying out 2018.4 (both 4.0 and 4.1) and we're seeing the exception reports don't have line numbers anymore. For example:

    upload_2019-5-30_10-45-45.png
    In 2018.2.5 instead of the (at <asdhfalksjdhfaksd>:0) we would instead get a file and line number. This issue will block us from upgrading, anyone know how to fix it?
     
  2. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1,220
    Hi @petey123567, could you tell me if you've been using these reports with release builds instead of debug builds? Crash Reporting hasn't officially been supported with release builds yet (it's still on our roadmap to do in the future), so I just wanted to confirm if this was the case.
     
  3. petey123567

    petey123567

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    These are both built with development build set as the build option.
     
  4. ryanc-unity

    ryanc-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    1,220
    Sorry for the late response, @petey123567. Would you be willing to share a project that reproduces this issue with us so that we can investigate further? You could either submit a bug using Unity's Bug Reporter and ping me with the bug number or share it as a zip with me in a DM, whichever you prefer.
     
  5. petey123567

    petey123567

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    The project is Kingdoms and Castles and is actually pretty big (1.7gb), probably too big for both a bug reporter upload and a web browser zip upload. Might be best if we add you to our github?
     
  6. phuong_unity

    phuong_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Posts:
    20
    @petey123567 I replied to your support ticket with my GitHub ID. Once I get a hold of your project, I can try to reproduce the issue and report it to the development team for further investigation.
     
  7. jaywinyeah

    jaywinyeah

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    My company experienced a similar issue where the crash reporter was missing the filename and line numbers for the callstacks. Our problem was due to our build script stripping .pdb files from the build. Once we left the .pdb files alone, the line numbers returned in the crash reports. I'm not sure if your problem is due to missing .pdb's, but I wanted to post our solution here since this is the only thread I found when searching for solutions.

    Jason Winokur