Search Unity

[bug] High CPU usage

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by MaskedMouse, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. MaskedMouse

    MaskedMouse

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Posts:
    424
    I've tried the Unity Hub 0.12.0.0, but after opening my project, the Unity Editor (2017.3.0p3) takes 25 ~ 40% CPU time constantly. When I open my project with the unity exe myself this does not seem to happen.

    So for some reason the project opened with Unity Hub just hogs CPU time.
     
  2. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    147
    Thanks for reporting, we will investigate it.
     
  3. rcenzo

    rcenzo

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    Any news on this? I'm on 0.13.0.0, and also seeing high idle CPU usage in my Unity editor for some reason.
     
  4. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    147
    Hi,
    It is under our plan, but we are currently focusing on fixing issues encountered.
    Meanwhile, we are being mindful of CPU usage as we make adjustments.
    In 0.13.0, some improvements been made.

    As for Unity Editor CPU usage, may I ask the editor version? Would running the editor independently from Unity Hub makes a different?
     
  5. MaskedMouse

    MaskedMouse

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Posts:
    424
    Unity 2017.3.1 - just independently I get 0-3% just the usual idle. When using UnityHub to open my project for me with 2017.3.1 25-40%
     
  6. Xepherys

    Xepherys

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    178
    For what it's worth, I'm using Hub 0.15.0 and Unity 2018.1.0b11 and am running into very similar issues, not just with idle but upon project opening and occasionally with changes, the CPU usage for Unity spikes to 100% and remains there for lengthy periods of time making Unity unusable until it calms back down.
     
    RumbleXMX2 likes this.
  7. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    147
    We will investigate on it
    Thanks for the info
     
  8. MaskedMouse

    MaskedMouse

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Posts:
    424
    I think it is because of the HUB Health request that is constantly running in the background.
    If I open the Unity project with UnityHub and then close UnityHub (closing it from the taskbar). Then in Unity I get the warning "HUB health request failed, Reason: Failed to connect to localhost port 39000: Connection refused (0)." spammed 15 times. But the CPU usage drops to the idle 0 ~ 3%.

    So my guess is, is that there is something in the HUB Health check that is constantly eating CPU time while the Unity Hub is active.
    I'm not sure why that health check is even there, but it sure doesn't have to be run every frame (which I think it is at this moment).
     
  9. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    4,432
    Why is the editor communicating with the hub at all? I can see it creating a connection when you try to open a different project, but other than that it shouldn't be necessary.
     
  10. MaskedMouse

    MaskedMouse

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Posts:
    424
    thats what I've been wondering as well. Why does the editor need to check whether the UHUB is running?
     
  11. MaskedMouse

    MaskedMouse

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Posts:
    424
    UnityHub 0.16.0 launching Unity 2018.1.0f1 same problem.
    Once Unity is launched I close UnityHub, the CPU usage goes down.
    I'd really love to use the UnityHub but it is unacceptable to have a constant CPU usage of 25+% in Unity.
     
  12. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    147
    While currently we have yet reproduced the issue, if the high CPU usage is indicated on the Editor side, it would be likely tie to Editor version. If any improvement is observed, it would likely be on a different Unity Editor version.

    Sorry for the inconvenience,
     
  13. peterc

    peterc

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    I'm having a similar issue. I find Unity Hub very useful, but it's taking up anywhere from 30% to 50% of my CPU usage even without any instances of Unity itself being open. I now wake up to find my laptop warm. :)

    activity-monitor.jpg
     
  14. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    147
    Hi,

    We are sorry for the situation, and I must apologize that I have not yet been able to reproduce the high CPU usage.
    This is important to us, any info you may provide would be valuable to us.

    Thanks,

    Joe
     
  15. TaleOf4Gamers

    TaleOf4Gamers

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Posts:
    802
    Just to throw my hat into the ring I am not seeing this issue:


    I have an i3-6320. (2 Cores, 4 Threads, 3.9GHz)
     
  16. MaskedMouse

    MaskedMouse

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Posts:
    424
    The latest version of Unityhub has solved the problem I had.
    So the bug was in the Unity Hub (I have not changed to a newer version of the Editor so). After a Unity Hub update I tried again and the problem is no longer there.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2018
  17. Bamboy

    Bamboy

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Posts:
    41
    I'm not getting very high cpu usage from Unity Hub, but all three exe stay open even after I close both Unity and the Hub window. Why doesn't closing Unity Hub window also kill the exe tasks? I'd much prefer it did, as I use my computer for other intensive tasks.

    My Unity Hub cpu usage can get up to 10%, even when everything Unity related is closed. It's kinda annoying.

    Using Hub v0.18.1, and currently am mostly working with Unity 2017.4.3f1
    OS: Windows 7
    Processor: AMD FX-6300 Six Core, 3.5GHz
    RAM: 16gb

    Are there any logs somewhere that would be useful to help the devs improve?
     
  18. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    616
    Are you sure you're closing it? By default it just minimizes to the tray when you try to close it. You have to right-click the tray icon and select "Quit Unity Hub" to actually close it.
     
  19. Bamboy

    Bamboy

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Posts:
    41
    Why minimize though? I hate programs that do that.
     
unityunity