Search Unity

Budget laptop for game development

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yCatDev, Sep 8, 2019.

1. yCatDev

yCatDev

Hi guys. I am a student from Ukraine. I earn extra money by developing small games. It so happened that I needed a laptop for study, which could replace my old PC (2011). My budget is limited to $800. I looked at laptops with AMD but I heard that almost all compilers are optimized for Intel. In addition, AMD videocards are very bad when working with Blender and Adobe After Effects. Is it so? If you can, then advise a laptop that will work well with Unity and will not be more expensive than my budget. Sorry for my English)

2. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

On the contrary the new Ryzen 3000 series are perfect fit for compiling code. Though at this point laptop versions are not known, and looking back at Ryzen 1 and 2 series I wouldnt hold my breath.

edit: They have scrapped the large cache on the laptop versions so probably not a good fit no and its on the old 12 nm node

Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
  3. yCatDev

yCatDev

It turns out amd does not fit? So I need to look at Intel. What about a videocard? Integrated video is definitely not suitable. Will something from the MX series from Nvidia fit? In my shops, there are a lot of laptops with the Core I3 + mx150. Is this the best option for current budget?

4. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

I would go with a eGPU solution. But 800 usd is not alot. Maybe get the laptop first and then save up for the external GPU?

5. yCatDev

yCatDev

I thought about it but still threw this option away due to instability. I heard that they work extremely poorly with demanding programs.

edit: I read more about eGPU. As for me, this option is much more expensive than buying a laptop with a ready-made video card.

6. Antypodish

Antypodish

What kind of student?
    School/Highsciol, or University?
    If from Uni, maybe try apply for laptop renting, or laptop discount?

7. Ryiah

Ryiah