Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Bought a broken package :-(

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by sendel76, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. sendel76

    sendel76

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Posts:
    36
    http://u3d.as/content/different-methods/spacehip-shader/1Db

    I bought this shipshader package, but can not import it.
    The responsible person is not responding and now I am confused:
    - Who is responsible for the package and that it is working (at least that it can be downloaded and imported) ?
    - Where can someone report such errors to protect others buying broken packages?
    - Who can help (me) if the responsible person does not answer?
    - Is it possible to get money back if the package is broken?

    Please help!

    The Message when I want to import the Package:
    Error while importing package: Couldn't decompress package
    UnityEditor.AssetStoreWindow:OnDownloadProgress(String, String, Int32, Int32)

    I also tried downloading it again and again - always with the same result.

    My Setting:
    - Mac Book Pro (i7, 2GHz, 8GB)
    - Unity Pro 3.4.2f2
    - OS: Lion
     
  2. andorov

    andorov

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,061
    You can request a refund from UT, just write to them.
     
  3. sybixsus2

    sybixsus2

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    When you say you haven't received a reply from the developer... have you waited a week or an hour?
     
  4. psyclone

    psyclone

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    245
    I have the same package... I will import into Unity 3.1 or before.. just not a later version
     
  5. CoatlGames

    CoatlGames

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    773
    also take in mind that the asset packge is not done by the developer in the asset store, the package is made by the asset store tools automatically at the time of submission to the asset store, so if the error is before full importing and the unitypackage is for some reason corrupt, its not developers fault as he has no control over the package creation.. and its asset store tools fault which is made by unity tech, however if the error presents itself after importing , then there is when it would be developers fault
     
  6. ArenMook

    ArenMook

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Posts:
    1,902
    Wow, at $35 this simple shader is a ripoff. $5 maybe, but $35? Ouch. Ask for a refund.
     
  7. sybixsus2

    sybixsus2

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    This why I can't have (many) nice things**.

    * in the Asset Store.