Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for your feedback on the platforms you use and how you use them. Let us know!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Book of the Dead

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by Buhlaine, Jan 16, 2018.

  1. Grimreaper358

    Grimreaper358

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    211
    First of all, SRP is still experimental so things might change in the future especially for ease of use.

    Currently, this is how you can setup wind animation for foliage

    Needed - If your project was made from the HD template or was added by the package manager you will need the Scriptable Render Pipeline Data files from GitHub. If you got your project from the SRP GitHub repository you should already have what's needed.

    First thing is to enable Vertex Animation for the shader
    upload_2018-3-7_18-27-35.png

    Then you need to create an empty game object and add the "Shader Wind Settings" script to it.
    Then you can play with your settings to get the look you want. (Note: This will animate the whole mesh. I haven't messed with vertex painting to stop parts of the object from moving so I can't speak on that aspect.)

    upload_2018-3-7_18-21-32.png
     
    Gametyme, Lex4art and Thall33 like this.
  2. Thall33

    Thall33

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Thanks @Grimreaper358 , I'm excited to get home a try this!

    Whats the process for the vertex painting? is this done in Unity as well? thanks for your time!
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2018
  3. Micz84

    Micz84

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    74
    At GDC it was said that demo forest will be available for download. Is there any ETA for that?
     
  4. adampzb

    adampzb

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    Any idea when we can expect 2018.1 release?
     
  5. theolagendijk

    theolagendijk

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    103
    Unity3D.com says April 2018.
     

    Attached Files:

    WillNode and adampzb like this.
  6. ceebeee

    ceebeee

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    148
    Still waiting on an actual look at this demo. It's not much of a demo if it's never released.
     
    JoeStrout likes this.
  7. Grimreaper358

    Grimreaper358

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    211
    Yea, you can do it in Unity with Poly Brush, and also in most DCC 3d program
     
  8. FreeGameDev

    FreeGameDev

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Posts:
    65
    What happened to the release? This video says the level and all the assets to be released in April.
     
  9. ceebeee

    ceebeee

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    148
    Fake News I guess.
     
    neoshaman likes this.
  10. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,297
    Might have been waiting for 2018.1 to make it out, officially ...?
     
    GameDevCouple_I likes this.
  11. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    22,446
    Unity does not mess people around without a good reason. The reason is staff are slammed with work, they will catch up, release something etc, we must be patient for our freebies.
     
  12. FreeGameDev

    FreeGameDev

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Posts:
    65
    Yeah, no problem, as game makers, I think we all understand things sometimes taking longer than anticipated. Not complaining at all. Just making sure I did not miss it somewhere.
     
    Ryiah, hippocoder and Fallenleader like this.
  13. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    22,446
    There was a response from Unity staff about this and it is coming! :)
     
    GameDevCouple_I and hopeful like this.
  14. GameDevCouple_I

    GameDevCouple_I

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    852
    Thanks @hippocoder
     
  15. cfree

    cfree

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Posts:
    51
    I have read in some thread that the target is now release Book of the Dead in 2018.2... can anyone confirm?

    I have another doubt: is Book of the Dead built with the new HD Pipeline, right?
     
  16. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    22,446
    There has been no target. Unity will post it on blog when it is ready, and it is done with HD.
     
  17. neoshaman

    neoshaman

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Posts:
    3,119
    The book of the dead is the test case for HD pipeline, I expect both to be released when ready
     
    GameDevCouple_I and cfree like this.
  18. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,831
    Well done for getting part of the Book of the Dead environment into the Apple WWDC keynote. I have long sung Unitys praises on this forum for doing things like getting the Unity compute shaders that work on DX11 working on other graphics APIs/platforms, very much including Metal. And I've long been a proponent of sticking more powerful graphics cards into macs, one way or another, so the combination of Unity and Apple pushing eGPUs is one that I am bound to applaud again today.
     
  19. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    The tree work was impressive and you can't get tree's from megascans, does anyone know if they were all custom made or used in conjunction with speedtree?
     
    neoshaman likes this.
  20. Mauri

    Mauri

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,172
  21. ceebeee

    ceebeee

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    148
    yes, and please read the description, where it says to install in an empty project. The reviews have people trying to install it into their active project which of course results in much crying and heartache. So just don't do that.
     
  22. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    6,986
    Still hoping to see the actual interactive demo someday.
     
  23. tsukiyomi

    tsukiyomi

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    so you start from an empty project in HDSRP is that it ? Because I tried many times but I also have many bugs :/ I know I failed somewhere x) but I can't seems to find the correct way to import it ><
     
  24. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,831
    No, dont even install HDRP first. Just a normal empty project created with the plain '3D template'. The asset comes with its own version of HDRP.
     
  25. tsukiyomi

    tsukiyomi

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Thank you so much man !
     
  26. ceebeee

    ceebeee

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Posts:
    148
    I'm a little confused by the licensing. They make the point of saying they used Quixel's MegaScan extensively. But in the License documents, they don't mention them anywhere.

    Are they indicating even though these textures/assets came from Megascans, they are still releasing them under the Asset Store License? (can be used commercially), or is this an oversight on their part?
     
    AaronC likes this.
  27. infinitypbr

    infinitypbr

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Posts:
    2,613
    Now that the assets are available, I can use them!

     
  28. castana1962

    castana1962

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    249
    Hi
    I downloaded and I love it !!!
    On the other hand and since I am working with Unity 2018.1 and I am interested in making one try with this Unity version and the Book of the death Environment art , for it, Would it be possible to import the Environment only to Unity 2018.1? .If is Is it possible. What I should do it?
    Thanks for your time
    Alejandro
     
  29. tinyant

    tinyant

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    99
    when you re-bake lighting the BOOK OF THE DEAD,it's takes so long time ...:eek::eek::eek::eek:
    anyone try to re-bake the cool scene's lighting?
    How long it take to finish the whole progress!!!!!!
     
  30. alsharefeeee

    alsharefeeee

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    ezgif.com-optimize (2).gif
    Hi guys, tried the book of the dead asset and its amazing.
    But someday out of no where suddenly this happened, did I do some thing wrong here.
     
  31. Tinman12345

    Tinman12345

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Hi Guys,
    Has anybody tried to use the book of the dead demo in VR?
    I tried it today very quickly. I imported the Steamvr asset and got an error about the canvas and can't run with VR.

    Any ideas?
     
  32. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,831
    The HD render pipeline that the demo is built upon does not support VR yet.
     
  33. Tinman12345

    Tinman12345

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I'll have to keep waiting then.
    Thanks for the reply.
     
  34. mebalzer

    mebalzer

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    Thank you for releasing this. I have already started with the 'AssetsLibrary' scene to test the possibly of porting "Breath of a Forest" over from Unreal to Unity if the HD pipeline will have AR/VR support in final release of 2018.2. Is there a possibility of the stereo 360 capture working with it as well?

     
  35. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,831
    The release of 2018.2 is not far away now and unless I've missed some important detail somewhere, AR/VR support for HD pipeline is still some way off, not a 2018.2 target.
     
    mebalzer likes this.
  36. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,831
    Or maybe it is more complicated than my previous post indicated, I just dont know.

    For example the following link is to a recent list of what features are supported in HD in 2018.1, and then a list of what is additionally supported in 2018.2.

    #758

    There are a couple of features that mention VR listed in the 2018.1 section, but I'm sort of assuming that more than those are required to support VR properly. Will post again if I find more info.
     
    mebalzer likes this.
  37. mebalzer

    mebalzer

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    Yea, my thoughts as well so that is disappointing but understandable. I guess I will have to stick with Unreal, which is not an issue since similar photo-realistic assets are available as well. I was hoping someone chime in if the 360 capture works since it doesn't use the VR pipeline, but I guess I will test it. If I can capture stereo frames, this will help me in adapting these to the Oculus Go / Carmack 5K video encoder.
     
  38. OfficialHermie

    OfficialHermie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Posts:
    367
    Is the hand along with the material already to be downloaded somewhere to look a look at how it's set up?
     
  39. puppeteer

    puppeteer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Posts:
    1,058
    Starting with the default "3D" settings and importing into Unity 2018.2.2f1 (64-bit), all I get is some errors and empty scenes, with missing assembly reference.

    Capture.PNG
     

    Attached Files:

  40. AaronC

    AaronC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3,506
    Where it says"3d" on your new project options click there you should see some new options for scene type.
     
  41. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    11,786
    You need to load the necessary packages. Start by opening the package manager.

    Window -> Package Manager

    After that click the "All" tab and import the following packages.

    Render-pipelines.core
    Render-pipelines.high-definition


    Once that's done it should work.
     
  42. puppeteer

    puppeteer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Posts:
    1,058
    Turned out in the end that it was an import problem. I repeated the process about 4 times on different project folders until it imported correctly. Didn't change anything, just 3D and import.

    It's quirky like that I guess.