Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Want more efficiency in your development work? Sign up to receive weekly tech and creative know-how from Unity experts.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Build games and experiences that can load instantly and without install. Explore the Project Tiny Preview today!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Nominations have been announced for this years Unity Awards. Celebrate the wonderful projects made by your peers this year and get voting! Vote here!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Official Book of the Dead: Environment

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by torbjorn, Jun 20, 2018.

  1. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    Book of the Dead: Environment


    We are delighted to finally be able to share the Book of the Dead: Environment package. The package contains an extended version of the environment that is shown in our Book of the Dead trailer.

    The package can be downloaded here.
    You can learn more about Book of the Dead and follow the making-of articles here.


    This thread is intended as the official place to discuss the content or get help with the package.



    Frequently Asked Questions:

    Q: Can we use this content in commercial projects?

    A: Yes! Please do. As much as you like. Some components have custom licensing, but these are very permissive licenses (see ThirdPartyNotices.txt for details). Everything else is governed by the non-restrictive asset Unity Asset Store End User License Agreement; this includes the excellent content graciously provided by Quixel.


    Q: The downloaded package fails to import with the error message "Couldn't decompress package", help!

    A
    : There are several issues that could be the cause of this error message, but a fairly common cause for Windows users is the following:

    HDRP contains some really long path names that can cause the package to not import properly into projects located in deep folder hierarchies. If you encounter this error message while importing the package, please try moving the project you're importing into closer to the root of your drive and import the package again.


    Q: Does the package work on macOS?

    A
    : Yes. However HDRP only officially supports High Sierra.


    Q: Can I run the package on OpenGL / GLCore / GLES?

    A
    : Sorry, the OGL APIs are not supported by HDRP.


    Q: I'm seeing compilation errors after importing the package. What gives?

    A
    : Please make sure you import the package into an empty project (use '3D' template when creating the project), and that you are using the indicated Unity version - currently 2018.2b9 or more recent. Note that the package comes with a customized version of HDRP embedded, it should not be imported into a project created using the 'HDRP' template - doing so will result in compilation errors.


    Q: I don't want to import into an empty project. Why can't I import directly into my current project?

    A: Let the record show that we strongly recommend importing into an empty project. But if you insist, here are some tips that might help...

    First things first: please make sure you have made a backup of the project you intend to mess with. Also, please keep in mind that since this is a full project package, all your project settings will be stomped by the import. Some of these project settings are required for the package to work as intended thus skipping them is not advised.

    Before trying to import the package into an existing project, it is important to ensure that the project's manifest does not contain any dependencies that might conflict with the packages embedded in the BotD:E package. These packages are com.unity.postprocessing, com.unity.render-pipelines.core, com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition and com.unity.probuilder.


    Q: Can I run this in VR?

    A: HDRP does not yet support stereo rendering.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2018
  2. Heechee

    Heechee

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Hi. I would like to ask you if you plan to publish documentation on the realization of this demo, especially on the use of the occlussion probes. I have been reading the development journals that you have published but they are mainly about artistic topics and very superficially about the subject of my question. Thank you.
     
    vikky_krish likes this.
  3. kristiangrundstrom

    kristiangrundstrom

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Posts:
    26
    Totally amazing work there!
     
    torbjorn likes this.
  4. nasos_333

    nasos_333

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    7,051
    Hi,

    Are the assets in folder "Quixel" -> "Forest-quixel" possible to distribute with our assets or are with different license than the rest of Unity created items in the project ?

    Thank you in advance for any clarification
     
  5. chenbo1987

    chenbo1987

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    hi,
    Unity 2018.2.0b8 Open the error ,abnormal display.

    Assets/_LocalPackages/botd.com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition/HDRP/RenderPipeline/HDRenderPipeline.cs(937,47): error CS0117: `UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.CullFlag' does not contain a definition for `NeedsReflectionProbes'
     
  6. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    Hi, the project requires beta9 to work correctly.
     
    SandyGrand likes this.
  7. chenbo1987

    chenbo1987

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    thx ! Let me try it.
     
  8. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    The Quixel assets in this package are governed by the standard Unity Asset Store End User License Agreement. Only some of the code components have custom licensing (but those are very permissive licenses).
     
  9. spotdot

    spotdot

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Posts:
    265
    can we use parts of this in our own commercial project?
     
    ZarateA and Trungdv like this.
  10. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    Yes. All of it. Look in ThirdPartyNotices.txt for licensing related to some of the code components. Everything else is governed by the Unity Asset Store End User License Agreement.
     
  11. chenbo1987

    chenbo1987

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    hi
    What plug-in is used to output HD video?
     
  12. SirTwistedStorm

    SirTwistedStorm

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    165
    Hello chenbo1987, I believe this is what you were looking for http://u3d.as/SQU
    Have a nice day. :)
     
  13. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    596
    How is Unity Companion License for sharing the code in github? I'm mainly asking if I can push BOTD SRP and PP changes into public github fork (forked from https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/ScriptableRenderPipeline )?

    I've already applied BOTD changes for local versions of PP (2.0.7) and SRP (2.0.0), mainly to learn what they did for BOTD versions of these libs. If these are allowed publicly in github, people could maintain custom versions with these changes with upcoming SRP improvements.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2018
  14. cfree

    cfree

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Posts:
    53
    Why "Hapki" plugin was needed in order to build the Player Controller?
    Hapki.dll
    Hapki.Interpolation.dll
    Hapki.Solvers.dll
    Hapki.Spatial.dll
     
  15. ktitov3d

    ktitov3d

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Posts:
    28
    Hello!

    First of all, thank you for amazing work!
    I just checked demo and it is beautiful.

    Can you answer few questions about terrain?
    1. I disable all props to look at terrain and I saw that squares sometimes appeared and disappeared when I moved around a scene. Look at image in attach.
    2. How did you create layers in terrains and in terrain materials?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. julienh_unity

    julienh_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    Hi !
    1. For the patches of terrain disappearing, do you have the occlusion culling window active by any chance ?
    2. We made the hdrp layered shader work with the legacy terrain but it's a little bit hacked in in this project. A proper solution for that is in the making. But in the meantime in this project :
    Look at the terrain material applied on the terrain, all the layers are setup in there. The texture layers in the terrain object properties are actually not used by the material, we just needed 4 of those with any texture to be able to paint the different layers on the terrain.
    I don't know if it is clear enough. I can make clearer explanations when I will be back from Unite tomorrow. In one word, look for the terrain material, it's all in there.
     
  17. steveR

    steveR

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Posts:
    33
    What techniques or assets do people recommend to best easily reduce the polys and file sizes of these assets?
     
  18. afterwise_

    afterwise_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    These are only some tiny convenience scripts, public domain here: https://github.com/Hapki/HapkiLibs
     
  19. sjm-tech

    sjm-tech

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Posts:
    674
    Impressive project ... work very smooth in my not younger pc, unfortunately DepthOfFieldAutoFocus is not compatible with dx11 :(.
     
  20. TheNightFury

    TheNightFury

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hello.
    This Project is amazing , but I ran into a problem.
    I did everything by the instructions and the project works fine. But when trying to create a new terrain it's pink an I didn't find a way to get rid of that.
    Any ideas how to fix that?
     
    Thepolite likes this.
  21. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    The builtin terrain shader doesn't support HDRP. Look at the custom material assigned to the included terrain and work your way from there.
     
  22. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    Yeah so it used to require DX11.1, but I think that requirement isn't actually needed anymore since we ported it to a compute shader. I'll look into removing this restriction for the next package update.
     
    sjm-tech likes this.
  23. sjm-tech

    sjm-tech

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Posts:
    674
    Thanks would be great!
     
  24. vikky_krish

    vikky_krish

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hi!

    Amazing project, I'm going to have a blast playing with this. But it would be really helpful if you guys could give us some sort of documentation on how everything is organized in the scene. I hope this is coming?
     
  25. infinitypbr

    infinitypbr

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Posts:
    2,672
    Sweet! I threw some characters in:

     
  26. julienh_unity

    julienh_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    I
    Is there something in particular that you would like explained?
     
  27. Firlefanz73

    Firlefanz73

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    861
    Great stuff. It is photo-realistic in my eyes…
    Thanks for that. :)
     
    torbjorn likes this.
  28. aliashubert

    aliashubert

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Hi! I'm using the Unity 2018.2.0b9 version for tis asset, but after the import I have received error messages. What I'm missing?

    ArgumentException: Kernel 'KMainTopRight' not found.
    UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.TexturePadding..ctor (UnityEngine.ComputeShader cs) (at Assets/_LocalPackages/botd.com.unity.render-pipelines.core/CoreRP/CoreResources/TexturePadding.cs:20)
    UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRenderPipeline..ctor (UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRenderPipelineAsset asset) (at Assets/_LocalPackages/botd.com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition/HDRP/RenderPipeline/HDRenderPipeline.cs:231)
    UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.HDPipeline.HDRenderPipelineAsset.InternalCreatePipeline () (at Assets/_LocalPackages/botd.com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition/HDRP/RenderPipeline/HDRenderPipelineAsset.cs:17)
    UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.RenderPipelineAsset.CreatePipeline () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/RenderPipeline/RenderPipelineAsset.cs:19)
    UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.RenderPipelineManager.PrepareRenderPipeline (IRenderPipelineAsset pipe) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/RenderPipeline/RenderPipelineManager.cs:54)
    UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering.RenderPipelineManager.DoRenderLoop_Internal (IRenderPipelineAsset pipe, UnityEngine.Camera[] cameras, IntPtr loopPtr) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/RenderPipeline/RenderPipelineManager.cs:27)
     
  29. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    Hi, could you please try right clicking on 'Assets/_LocalPackages' in the project view and choosing 'Reimport'?
     
    aliashubert likes this.
  30. aliashubert

    aliashubert

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Let me try in a minute. :)
     
  31. aliashubert

    aliashubert

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks. It's solved the problem. :) This asset are awesome, I have tried on a not to massive PC and just run smoothly 30-35 FPS. But I think I need more memory because the editor is ate 10Gb ram and really slow. :D

    Update: Editor just first time was slow. Now is ok.

    CPU: AMD A10 7850K Black Edition (FM2+)
    RAM: HyperX Fury 2x8Gb DDR3 1866MHz CL10
    GPU: ASUS Strix GeForce GTX950 2Gb GDDR5
     
    torbjorn likes this.
  32. Migueljb

    Migueljb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Posts:
    384
    What's the main reason why the Progressive lightmapper was used instead of the Enlighten GI system? Can the same or better be achieved with Enlighten or not as well.
     
  33. lolmaster2

    lolmaster2

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Amazing work! How would I go about publishing this for iOS and/or tvOS?
     
  34. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    The UCL does permit this. (That being said, I would personally hold off on this task at least until 18.2 leaves beta)
     
    rizu likes this.
  35. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    Unfortunately, right now you don't, because HDRP currently does not support either platform.
     
  36. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    596
    Hold off why? You mean maintaining custom SRP? If so, I can agree on that, especially if you guys will port any of the BOTD changes back to mainline (would expect at least the 16-bit shadow buffer find a way there).

    Otherwise, it's nice to have the git diff to see what BOTD actually changed on the SRP and PP, it gives an idea how big some of the changes are if someone is going to attempt modifying SRP themselves for custom things.
     
  37. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    Yes, it will be maintained for a while, and yes more of the changes will be brought back to mainline (like the 16-bit shadowmaps option e.g.).
     
  38. unity_ZzsvtKZE0KfShQ

    unity_ZzsvtKZE0KfShQ

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    How run in fullscreen mode?
     
  39. VavylonaEntertainment

    VavylonaEntertainment

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    140
    What fps do i get with a 1050ti?
     
  40. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    Standard Unity way; either uncheck 'Windowed' in the configuration popup or press alt+enter to toggle while the app's running.
     
  41. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    You tell us :) But I would imagine fairly decent FPS.
     
  42. LukeFireproof

    LukeFireproof

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Is there some way of building this for ps4? The summary on the asset store says it'll run on ps4 but the latest supported Unity version on devnet is 2018.1.5f1 as shown here https://ps4.siedev.net/forums/thread/227324/
     
  43. VavylonaEntertainment

    VavylonaEntertainment

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    140
    I'm planning to get this build [2x Xeon 5650 6core @ 2.9 GHz - 48gb ram DDR3 - 1050ti 4gb]

    Will i be able to work on such graphics?
     
  44. rizu

    rizu

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    596
  45. sjm-tech

    sjm-tech

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Posts:
    674
    I'm very surprise to see my old ASUS ROG TYTAN G30 with GTX 770 obtains 32/37(also 48 in some zones) fps on a build ( full HD - dx11).
    Awesome!
     
    torbjorn and hippocoder like this.
  46. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    23,832
    PLM is required for baking occlusion probes, but if you wanted you probably could bake that data in another pass if you insisted on using Enlighten to lightmap (I recommend you migrate to PLM if you are doing baked workflows). Enlighten is still used even with PLM for runtime GI.
     
    torbjorn likes this.
  47. torbjorn

    torbjorn

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    We don't have such a system to test on so it's hard to make any promises, but I imagine you'd be in decent shape. @aliashubert reported smooth 30-35 FPS on a GTX950 yesterday.
     
  48. Kory-therapy

    Kory-therapy

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    Is their any online video on how to get this to work?

    thanks in advance
     
    asd861486 likes this.
  49. robert

    robert

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Posts:
    263
    We have a few more blog posts planned and they should get a bit more technical in places.

    The Lighting Team might publish a blog post about Occlusion Probes, but it's not certain yet. It's a feature that will make its way into HDRP one way or another eventually and then will have proper documentation, so that's part of the reason the pressure on documenting it now isn't very high.

    I've tried putting some comments in the code to explain what's going on, but the gist is that we make the lightmapper bake sky visibility probes at regular grid locations, and then use that to occlude direct sky contribution. Without that direct sky contribution was sampled as part of baking light probes, which are very sparse so the sky contribution occlusion wasn't getting sampled at a satisfactory resolution. You can see its contribution in the project by toggling the OcclusionProbes object or by going to the HDRP Debug Window and displaying Sky Occlusion via the Material menu.
     
  50. VavylonaEntertainment

    VavylonaEntertainment

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    140
    On what percentage does each part [cpu/gpu/ram] affect the frame rate? @aliashubert