Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Bolt – Visual Scripting

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by LazloBonin, Jul 11, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zenGarden

    zenGarden

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    4,538
    Hi @ludiq ,
    Why there is not "get" for variables ?


    We can't get Transform from Blackboard GameObject variable ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2017
  2. GamerPET

    GamerPET

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Posts:
    370
    About the "Get for variables", that's because you are dragging that arrow from a Flow. Get Variables don't have an Flow Arrow. They are just outputing a value:

    So since you are dragging a flow, he is showing you stuff that have a flow. Sometimes it's just a better idea to search for things without dragging, picking what you think you want and try to connect.

    For example since you want the Transform from a GameObject, maybe first get the GameObject, then you get the transform.
     
    SteveB and zenGarden like this.
  3. yazidane

    yazidane

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    is there any discount for Christmas or new year sale...
     
  4. docwes

    docwes

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    @ludiq I saw the bolt was 30% off from unity front page but when i went to buy it, it was regular price. This is very confusing how can i get the 30% off price. I'd like to get this today.Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Hi docwes. Sorry about this, Bolt isn't on sale at the moment. It seems that the Unity Asset Store team forgot to update their "landing" pages. I'll notify them to get it fixed ASAP.
     
    docwes likes this.
  6. docwes

    docwes

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Okay thanks for the response. :D
     
  7. zenGarden

    zenGarden

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    4,538
    Hi @ludiq

    It is possible to create custom nodes ? I didn't find it in documentation.
    I need the flowgraph to stay high level and readable because it's complex AI.
     
  8. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Hi ZenGarden!

    You can create custom nodes simply by creating methods. If the class is derived from a MonoBehaviour or included in your type options, all its members will become available as units in the graph.

    Documentation to create advanced custom units (e.g. multiple control inputs/outputs, etc.) is coming soon!
     
    zenGarden likes this.
  9. zenGarden

    zenGarden

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    4,538
    Bolt is awesome, thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2018
  10. Ancoreig

    Ancoreig

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hi guys, I am currently using Unity 5.6.4 and I plan to move to 2017.X in order to use Bolt. Which version of 2017 should I install? Thanks in advance!
     
  11. red2blue

    red2blue

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Posts:
    200
    Why not go with the latest release 2017.3. Bolt is working fine with it!
     
    Ancoreig likes this.
  12. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    red2blue likes this.
  13. ProDevelopers

    ProDevelopers

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Is there any integration with InVector assets?
     
  14. ProDevelopers

    ProDevelopers

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Also plz if possible give me the idea on how it is different from "Behavior Designer" ?
    Thanks
     
  15. Arganth

    Arganth

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Posts:
    277
    for bd you need integrations.
    for bolt you dont need these because the methods are called via reflection.
    (as far as I understand)
    so you can immediatly use it with everything
     
    rakkarage and ProDevelopers like this.
  16. ProDevelopers

    ProDevelopers

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks for the info,
    BTW still looking for a start point of developing a third person like game with some AI, using the Bolt.
    Does it have one? to put me in the correct path or not?
     
  17. zenGarden

    zenGarden

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    4,538
    If you know how to make your game with scripts or how things are done, using Bolt is not different from coding.
    The advantage of Bolt is you can use FSM like Playmaker to drive the high level logic.
    So you get less code, a visual high level representation of your game logic and better debugging.
    Perhaps you should try to find some Playmaker game example and convert it to Bolt.
     
    ProDevelopers likes this.
  18. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Version 1.2.3 has been submitted for review!

    Download it early with your invoice number here: https://ludiq.io/build/928

    Changelog:

    Ludiq.Core v.1.2.3
    • Added New Alpha and Beta systems
    • Added Screen to default types with icon (#951)
    • Added Warning for object reference order changing after undo (#692)
    • Changed Hide interface methods in AOT safe-mode (#957)
    • Fixed Human naming error on MemberInfo (#888)
    • Fixed AOT Pre-Build not including stubs from disabled game objects (#899)
    • Fixed Unity Object to interface conversion (#907)
    • Fixed Virtual method overrides not being used in IL2CPP (#872)
    • Fixed Number to string units on IL2CPP (#790)
    • Fixed Unity hierarchy conversion issue with pseudo-nulls (#953)
    • Fixed AOT Pre-Build not including stubs from uninstantiated prefabs (#973)
    Ludiq.Graphs v.1.2.3
    • Refactored Canvas code to use control IDs
    • Fixed Quick window dragging causing lasso (#767)
    • Fixed Mouse issues in canvas (#1057)
    Bolt.Flow v.1.2.3
    • Fixed Issues with SceneVariable singleton (#912)
    • Fixed Manual events firing on idle graphs (#937)
    • Fixed Error in scene variable value prediction from prefab graphs (#1007)
    • Fixed Typo in Create Dictionary node (#1084)
    • Fixed Manual events not firing in flow machines (#966)
    Bolt.State v.1.2.3
    • Added Trigger enter / exit state events in transitions (#949)
    • Fixed Fixed Update and Late Update not firing in super states (#948)
     
    Mark_01, Bartolomeus755 and red2blue like this.
  19. zenGarden

    zenGarden

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    4,538
    Make Bolt as one project sub folder ?
     
  20. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    This is planned for v.1.3.
     
    Mark_01, zenGarden and Bartolomeus755 like this.
  21. MarkusGod

    MarkusGod

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    168
    Hello, sorry for nooby question (that probably already answered somewhere, but I didn't manage to find an answer)
    Is there a way to create a coroutine-like graph that won't lock the main thread? I want it to trigger flow every x seconds.
     
    Mark_01 likes this.
  22. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Bolt v.1.2.4 Alpha 1 is out!

    You can always add multiple Updates in the same graph!
     
    red2blue likes this.
  23. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Bolt v.1.2.4 Alpha 2 is out!
    • Download here: https://ludiq.io/build/933
    • Always backup your project before an alpha / beta
    • Report bugs on Discord in #bug-hunting!
     
  24. Mark_01

    Mark_01

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Posts:
    630
    I have had Bolt for about a month ( got it during the sale ) and I must say i'd pay more then 70 $ now.
    Bolt is incredible and I will be putting in a full review when I have the time.

    Even though yes, I am one of the many that can't code. I had playmaker since i started Unity 2 years ago, but
    never got that serious even with playmaker as i love making outdoor environment levels. However I tried to avoid / not think about coding ( I am retired hobbyist only )

    But man I would have never been able to do some of the things that I can do in Bolt, without understanding coding. The simple combination of Realistic FPS and Emerald AI 2 , I could not get the RPFS to remove the Dead Emerald AI agents. Bolt made this possible for me, .... simple as that!!!

    I read the reddit page of when Bolt came out and I say this, Playmaker has met its match.. and Bolt IMHO is way better, its faster, and can do more than Playmaker also it's way more intuitive once you get a general idea.

    Anyways congratulations to ludiq / Lazlo WOW Bolt is incredible!!!

    I know it's bad taste to do cross-posting, but this could be very helpful to the Bolt community, well at least people like with less experience like me. Doing Bolt flow charts in full screen mode when you only have one monitor, is fun but if you have a lot of super units that you use a lot, like say the a super unit debug, you would have to go out of full screen mode, but I found a great utility just 2 days ago , its called Favorites Pro. For the record, I, in no way, know this developer or am friends or have any kind of " arrangement / deal " .

    I like good developers that care about Unity and then I help if and when I can..
    Favorites Pro can keep the window on Top when you have Bolt flow chart in full screen mode
    and you can drag super Units straight from the Favorites Pro window while in the full screen mode for Bolt flow graphs.

    IMHO it is worth checking out and very worth it in terms of how much it is.

    P.S i had bought and tried a cheaper one the day before, that looked like it did what I wanted, but it does not, it only will point to where it is in the window, so for full screen its not going to help.

    Favorites Pro from what I can tell, is the only utility that can do this.

    Please forgive the cross post, I wanted to help Bolt community in general with this
    quality of life find for working in Unity.. it makes it even more fun then Bolt already is.

    With out Bolt I'd still be " just mucking about " but now I am much calmer and happier,
    Bolt is incredible.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2018
    Regularry, LazloBonin and KristianHJ like this.
  25. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Thanks for the kind words. :) Glad you're enjoying Bolt!
     
    Mark_01 likes this.
  26. Beral

    Beral

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    Hello, it seems interesting. Is there the possibility of to call .dll functions from the nodes of Bolt?
    Or for example can I use enums from .dll
     
  27. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Hi Beral! Yes, that's entirely possible (as long as we're talking managed .NET DLLs, not native C++ DLLs.)
     
  28. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    TechnicalArtist and Mark_01 like this.
  29. FlamingTroll

    FlamingTroll

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Hey, I just purchased Unity Plus but I haven't received Bolt. I know this falls outside the realms of your support, but I was wondering how and when others get Bolt after upgrading?
     
  30. FlamingTroll

    FlamingTroll

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    To answer my own question from the Bolt FAQ.

    "How do I redeem my Bolt asset?

    After purchasing Unity Plus, allow up to 1 week to receive an email with voucher code(s) for Bolt. You must redeem the voucher code within 30 days of your Plus purchase. To redeem it, login to your Unity Asset Store account. Click on your Asset Store profile icon in the top right corner, then click on Redeem Voucher. Follow the instructions on screen. Click on the “My Assets” folder icon in the top right to view your assets. From there you can open your assets in Unity."

    So looks like I'm in for a wait... :(
     
  31. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Hey TheWyrm! I spoke with Justin from the Asset Store team and apparently they should be sending vouchers every other day, so hopefully the wait won't be too long. :)
     
  32. PixelPounder

    PixelPounder

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    56
    I am considering the Bolt asset vrs a few others such as Playmaker, NodeCanvas and Flow Canvas.

    What are the differences between flow graphs, state graphs and behavior trees and dialogue trees?
    And when would I use one over another?

    Why would someone need Playmaker if they are using Bolt?
     
  33. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    181
    Hello, I have some questions about Bolt before I purchase it:

    - Can you code and save your code while your game is running?
    - Can you add nodes to delay the execution of the next nodes (Number of frames or ms).

    Thanks!

    f.
     
  34. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    If by "code" you mean "edit graphs", then yes you can do that while the game is running. You can't apply the changes permanently yet, but that's planned for the future.

    And yes, there are wait nodes (wait for end of frame, wait for seconds, etc.)!
     
  35. fmarkus

    fmarkus

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Posts:
    181
    Thanks for your prompt answer. Let us know when live coding and save is possible, it's a must for this kind of tools. Antares Universe does this already. Not as nice looking as your tool but very powerful.
    Also you can add the frame or seconds delay directly in the link between nodes (Like Virtools did many years ago). Very easy and avoids cluttering.
    I'll keep watching.

    f.
     
  36. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Bolt v.1.3.0 is ready!

    (The package is awaiting review on the asset store)
    IMPORTANT: You must follow the manual update instructions in order to avoid data loss during the upgrade.

    Changelog:

    Ludiq.Core v.1.3.0
    • Changed Folder structure (#610)
    • Added RenamedFrom attribute for types and members (#742)
    • Added Embedded loading for editor resources
    • Refactored Type deserialization
    • Added Support for .NET 4.6 compilation
    • Removed System.Threading dependency on .NET 4.6 builds
    • Fixed Invalid GUI actions whiles compiling
    • Fixed XML Documentation loading failure fatality (#1225)
    • Optimized Project XML documentation loading
    • Fixed Deserialization failure logging fatality
    • Added UnityEngine.Touch to default types
    • Fixed FlexibleSpace and Space NullReferenceException (#1349)
    • Refactored Decorator provider freeing
    • Fixed Missing valid constructors for objects derived from UnityEngine.Object (#1346)
    • Fixed Static types being excluded in AOT safe mode (#1409)
    • Removed SharpRaven and Newtonsoft.Json dependencies (#1373)
    Ludiq.Graphs v.1.3.0
    • Refactored Graph element collections
    • Refactored Graph context and breadcrumbs
    • Added Dynamic element dependency resolution
    • Fixed Undo issues
    • Fixed Graph context validation issues
    • Added Dim disabling when mouse over or selected
    • Added Dim fade animation
    • Fixed Snap to grid when resizing min axes (#1392)
    • Fixed Graph inspector height calculation (#1400)
    Bolt.Core v.1.3.0
    • Refactored Moved Variables and Events to core assembly
    • Fixed Error when merging a saved variable to a null initial variable (#1407)
    Bolt.Flow v.1.3.0
    • Added Unit connection preservation
    • Refactored Unit definition error recovery
    • Fixed Internal KeyedCollection NullReferenceException
    • Fixed Non-component UnityEngine.Object drag & drop (#1262)
    • Added Multiple graph outputs warning (#1243)
    • Refactored Unit port description (#1348)
    • Fixed Conversion errors for missing component prediction (#1428)
    • Fixed Dictionary units not caching input (#1327)
    • Fixed Null warning for nullable value types
    • Added Inline inspector for nullable value types
    • Fixed Unit heading text cutoff when zoomed out (#1183)
    • Fixed CreateDictionary class name typo
    Bolt.State v.1.3.0
    • Fixed State unit relations
     
  37. buFFalo94

    buFFalo94

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Posts:
    273
    @ludiq i'm really interested by your asset but i have some questions.
    1. How flowgraph is stored? By that I meam in which format is saved.
    2.Can I load a flowgraph at runtime from AssetsBundle?
     
  38. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    1. As a JSON string, either in a Macro (scriptable object) or an Embed (on the machine component)
    2. You can, but be aware that AOT pre-build will not work for asset bundles.
     
  39. buFFalo94

    buFFalo94

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Posts:
    273
    Okay so flowgraph can be loaded at runtime. How?
    As for IOS(which is AOT) using IL2CPP is there a way to make it work?
     
  40. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    You do not need to do anything to load a flow graph, if you have a flow machine component on the asset in your bundle, Bolt will take care of it.

    At the moment, there is no way to compile AOT stubs for bundles, unless the bundles are all part of your initial project before you build. This is due to the same kind of reasons that prevent including scripts in asset bundles.
     
  41. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Big news! We are teaming up with GameGrind to bring you a full Bolt video tutorial series on YouTube!

    You'll learn about everything you need to make a full game with visual scripting in Unity:
    1. Project Setup
    2. Character Controller
    3. Spikes & Death
    4. Level Change
    5. Head-Up Display (HUD)
    6. Doors & Keys
    7. Health & Damage
    8. Enemies & AI
    9. Projectile Attack
    10. Pause Menu
    11. Main Menu
    12. Conclusion
    Here are the first few videos!




     
  42. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    New video! Spikes & Death: learn how to use Bolt's custom events to create a death mechanic.

     
  43. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Today's tutorial is Level Change: learn how to switch scenes and save player progress!

     
  44. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    The May Madness sale is back at the Unity Asset Store!

    And yes, that means you can get Bolt at 50% OFF for a limited time!


     
    rakkarage likes this.
  45. rakkarage

    rakkarage

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Posts:
    683
    thanks a lot. gonna buy.
    you will soon support 2018?
     
  46. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Unity 2018 is already supported. There's a minor issue with the variables inspector, but it will be fixed in the next version.
     
    rakkarage likes this.
  47. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    More tutorials from GameGrind to get started!





     
    rakkarage likes this.
  48. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Part #9 is up: learn how to create Enemy AI with Bolt State Machines!

     
  49. jayderyu

    jayderyu

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    I'm having a couple issues.

    1) Singleton
    This is probably not very hard, but I seem to be unable to use a singleton. I'm not talking about the Scene Variables singleton. I'm referring to a GameManager singleton. I have a game manager. It has a static value called Instance. The game manager also has a reference to another object. But whenever I attempt to access the object the system holds up on a null reference.

    2) I'm using GameSparks API. Which comes with a bunch of DLL's. I've put the DLL's into the system for it to build everything it needs. But It doesn't get everything.
    There various namespaces and sub-namespaces
    Api, which has additional sub-namespaces of Messages, Request, Responses
    Core
    Platform, which also has Native and WebGL

    The only part Bolt gets 's is a platform. Whereas the primary use is API(Requests and Responses). I'm not sure how to get bold to read the rest of the system.
     
  50. LazloBonin

    LazloBonin

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    809
    Hey Jay!

    1) Simple trick: In a Start event, set an Application variable called e.g. "GameManager" to Self. Voilà!

    2) Are you sure you added the DLLs in the Assembly options before looking for them in the Type options?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.