Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Bolt -- NullReferenceException

Discussion in 'Visual Scripting' started by TJMStudios, Nov 15, 2021.

  1. TJMStudios

    TJMStudios

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    I downloaded the free version of Bolt from the Unity asset store and imported it into a new project. I kept everything as default in the Bolt Setup Wizard, but when I click "Generate" it keeps throwing the same error at me. See the image below.

    Bolt_Generate_Error.png

    I've just started learning Unity and it's been going well, but this error is driving me nuts. If anyone could help it would be very much appreciated!
     
  2. Lemovision

    Lemovision

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Posts:
    33
    I don't know why this is happening,
    But you could try newer versions of Unity from 2021.1
    Where Visual Scripting is already integrated so you don't need to install the plugin
     
  3. Ninjawarrior2077

    Ninjawarrior2077

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Same, I do not know how to solve it
     
  4. REDACT3D_

    REDACT3D_

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2020
    Posts:
    221
    Note: if you're reading this in the future, and just looking to get what is now called Visual Scripting (previously bolt) it's already built-in and installed.

    You will find it listed in properties and project settings as Visual Scripting. Note that the component names have also been updated to Script Machine and State Machine. And if you try and install bolt overtop, it will throw errors.

    Obviously this does not apply to legacy versions
    p.PNG pp.PNG ppp.png
     
    nekowei likes this.