Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Blowing off steam

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by iflowers, Aug 18, 2011.

1. iflowers

iflowers

Hi! I just feel like I need to blow off steam. I have been a 3D modeler for the last 10 years, I've built a few web sites, I worked with Flash and Action Script mostly developing e-learning content. Now, I consider myself a visual person, not a programmer. How do I know that? Because I start every project from establishing look and feel, layout and building graphics, not from opening notepad and Leeeeroy!
    I am applying for a job, that requires: 3D modeling of objects, characters, environments (perfect!), texturing, animating (good), web site design and development of marketing materials (easy!) - but also development of authoring scripts (oops!). Big OOPS actually.
    I know that the company is working with Unity. So, I picked up Unity 3D book last Monday, I went through it, built a few games following the tutorials. And I got really upset last night. I mean, I know my way in Unity now better that I did before. I know the basic things, such as collision, GUI design, basic camera controls. I do understand the script when I am typing it from the book. But if you give me a problem and let me solve it - I will go and shoot myself in the head without even trying it. I just don't get it. I mean, I do get functions and classes and vars and arrays, and i++, I know what they do. But let's say you want me to build a script that will brake things apart and I won't be able to do it.
    In the book that I read it said that some people get programming right the way, some do it gradually. I feel like I am neither of the two types. Yes, I am a girl. Maybe this is the problem... Maybe I should have gone to fashion after all...

2. kieblera5

kieblera5

Post in the Gossip forum next time ;)