Search Unity

[Blog Link] Fixed point arithmetic in C#/Unity for RTS games

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by PhobicGunner, Jan 15, 2017.

1. PhobicGunner

PhobicGunner

So, recently I started coding up an RTS prototype in Unity and one of the design goals of this is to make it support multiplayer.
    The thing about RTS games is they often have at least hundreds if not thousands of units at once, and that's way too much to just directly serialize over the network. So, instead, they usually have to use lockstep simulation (serialize player commands instead, and just ensure that everyone runs their simulations with the same inputs so that they all have the same results).

However, floats have no determinism and are completely useless for the task, therefore I found myself having to implement my own fixed-point math library (since fixed-point math IS deterministic). I have decided, then, that I will start releasing a series of blog posts that others can read on how to implement fixed-point math like I have done, in case anyone else wants to work on RTS-style games and needs lockstep simulation.

The first post is at the following link. It covers how fixed point works, why it's still useful, and the beginnings of a Fixed struct type in C#.

http://jetfistgames.com/blog/post/fixed-point-math-c-part-1

I'd appreciate any feedback and questions on this, and I hope people will find this series helpful.

2. PhobicGunner

PhobicGunner

3. Dave-Carlile

Dave-Carlile

Thanks for this. A need I've run into is a fixed point physics engine. One of my game ideas involves the ability to pick up (uh, no real way to say this delicately) body parts after an explosion and use them for weapons. The explosions need to be physics based to get the right look, and they all need to happen as part of the lockstep mechanism across clients so all of the pieces are in the same place. Anyone play Bungie's old game Myth? That gives the general idea.

4. imaginaryhuman

imaginaryhuman