Search Unity

1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Bloated Timer

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Lophane, Nov 25, 2022 at 5:07 AM.

1. Lophane

Lophane

Hey there, to preface my question and code I just started learning Unity and C# a bit over a week ago.

So I started with following a tutorial bit I finished that a few days ago and have since been editing and adding in things that I want to try out, I'm sure I'm not doing everything super well and it wouldn't be scalable but I know what's going on and it works as I try to make bigger projects I'm sure I'll progress with a few (many) growing pains.
    My most recent addition has been a timer for the level, every second that passes deducts points from the player's total which is all good, easy enough to just get the 'Time.timeSinceLevelLoad' and just do a bit of math with it to get it to the right number*.
    However, when trying to get the timer up on the UI I have encountered... well not a problem, It's working fine, but it feels like some major bloat and I'm hopeful that It's just because of my inexperience and lack of knowledge of the vocabulary of C#, here it is:

Code (CSharp):
    2. void Update()
    3.     {
    5.         //This displays the current time since the level was loaded as long as the level is still running
    6.         if (gameHasEnded == false && Victory == false)
    7.         {
    8.             if ((Mathf.Ceil((Time.timeSinceLevelLoad) - 1f)) < 10f)
    9.             {
    10.                 timeTaken = (Mathf.Ceil((Time.timeSinceLevelLoad) - 1f)).ToString("0");
    11.                 TimerText.SetText("Time: 00:0" + timeTaken);
    12.             }