Search Unity

blendshapes not working with animator controller existing

Discussion in 'Animation' started by unity_tUEmZeRU8aAX2A, Jul 2, 2019.

1. unity_tUEmZeRU8aAX2A

unity_tUEmZeRU8aAX2A

hi, have a player with idle, walk and run animation, created a blendtree and set navagent speed as parameter to control the blend of the animation.

player also have blendshapes to make body skinnier when equipped with armor or whatever. And the weight is adjustable in inspector.

but when at run time, all the weights just return to 0, and not adjustable anymore no matter by hand or by scripts.

if I remove the animator controller, there is no problem to adjust the weight of blendshapes.

can anyone shed me some light on this matter? I googled the problem, but found no similar situation. I'm pretty new to game dev with unity.
    o_O:(

2. waller_g

waller_g

Bumping this because I am experiencing the exact same issue. I'm hoping this will necro the original question and maybe get an answer.

3. waller_g

waller_g

4. waller_g

waller_g

Just for posterity's sake, I'm posting the solution I found here. https://answers.unity.com/questions...2.1556685552.1586958488-1906029853.1484055447

I have no idea why the selected answer works, but, it works. It adds a tonne of micromanagement to my model exports, especially while they're still in active development, but it's what has to be done, I guess.

I would still love to know if there is another, more viable solution to this that isn't a hacky abuse of blender's data blocks.

DumlerJason likes this.
  5. DumlerJason

DumlerJason

The solution in the above post worked for me.

In Blender 2.8?, I unchecked the "Relative" option under my blend shapes, which removed the blend shapes being relative to the base blend shape. While testing the blend shapes I'll have to remember to check it.