Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Blender vs. Cheetah3D

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by prime31, Oct 17, 2008.

1. prime31

prime31

I'm very new to 3D modeling having only used Swift3D in the past and was wondering if someone can point out the pros/cons of Blender vs. Cheetah3D. I picked up Cheetah3D on a recommendation from another thread but the number Cheetah3D tutorials on the web is next to nil compared to Blender which prompted me to download it.

What are the pros and cons of each as related to Unity3D?

2. Bones3D

Bones3D

Well, Cheetah3D does work well with Unity in a number of areas. If anything, the problems you'll likely get stuck on are with Cheetah3D itself. A number of the tools within Cheetah 3D aren't quite as intuitive as the could be, which often leaves you with a number of head-scratching "what do I do now?" situations.

If you are literally just starting out in 3D, you might be better off using a more polished commercial, consumer-level 3D package. The documentation tends to be better and the interfaces are less taxing on the mind.

Personally, I've been a fan of software like Carrara Studio Pro from DAZ Productions. It's not too expensive, there's a lot of great 3rd party support for the software and the software itself is a good introduction to working with important 3D modeling and animation concepts. Such concepts may prove vital when you start bridging over into apps like Unity, where you actually interact with the content you've created.

In the meanwhile, you mentioned you've used Swift3D before. Am I correct in assuming you have some experience with Flash in some form?