Search Unity

(Blender) Trying To Create Human Model For Android - Need Help -

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by anastasakhs1, Apr 1, 2018.

1. anastasakhs1

anastasakhs1

Hello all , I am new to blender and i need a little help, I have created a few games with unity and now i want to start making something bigger by creating my own assets!

I have a few questions about making game assets, what's the workflow you need for creating for example a human model ? what I have found so far by searching at google is

1: Make the model
    2: Sculpt
    3: Retopology
    4: UV Unwrap/Bake

Is this the correct order do i need something else ?

Also i cant find anywhere about how many (Verts , Faces , Tris) my human model should be for android game

Currently I am working on this human model and now I am trying to retopology it with subsurf and shrinkwrap hoping to get better results than the Decimate or the InstantMesh

The problems i have are
    1: Don't know how many (Verts , Faces , Tris) I should aim for android game.
    2:When I tried to retopology before with InstantMesh or with Decimate the details after bake were not good.

If someone can help me, tell me a few tips , link me a few tutorials i will appreciate it a lot, Thank you!

Last edited: Apr 1, 2018
    BrandyStarbrite likes this.
  2. SnowInChina

SnowInChina

1. there's no magic number for this, since it depends on what your game is like, how many other assets are seen at the same time, basicly overall performance

2. try to retopo your meshes by hand, its best to learn the manual way first and then work your way to automation, since then you already know everything about the subject and can handle the problems with automation easily

3. BrandyStarbrite

BrandyStarbrite

Cool!
    But we need more info:

What is the specs of the android device, that you're making games for?

What type of game, are you making?

4. Dustin-Horne

Dustin-Horne