Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Blender to Unity: Can I keep just the original keyframes for only the animated bones?

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by TwiiK, Dec 26, 2020.

1. TwiiK

TwiiK

I'm trying my hand at animation in Blender. I've never really animated anything before and the last time was like 10 years ago in 3ds Max so for all intents and purposes I'm a complete beginner. As a learning exercise I want to import a model with 2 animations into Unity: The first is a 1 frame idle animation (a static pose) and the second is a 20 frame long looping walking animation.

I'm doing this because before I proceed with this I want to make sure that everything I feel is wrong or less than ideal is in fact due to limitations in the software and not due to me doing it improperly. So far I feel there is a lot that is wrong or less than ideal with my workflow.

My frustrations so far are:
    1. Do I have to bake the animation to get it into Unity or is that a Blender limitation? I don't get the concept of baking an animation. It seems extremely counter-intuitive to me. My test walking animation is just 12 keyframes in total for 4 bones where the character is just swinging his arms and legs back and fourth. But when I get the animation into Unity there are way more keyframes than 12 due to baking and subsequently animation compression in Unity. Surely just importing the 12 original keyframes is more optimized than generating a whole bunch of new keyframes at fixed intervals and then trying to compress them away after?