Search Unity

Blender Texturing

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by faltaint, May 22, 2014.

1. faltaint

faltaint

Hello guys,

I started using blender for modeling my medieval weapons but i am not really experienced with texturing them. Are there like a place where i can find good tutorials for making textures and such? I have attached 2 models i created in blender.

$Battleaxe.png
    $Sword.png

I hope you guys can help me out!

Kind regards,

Alex Heijnen

2. KheltonHeadley

KheltonHeadley

3. faltaint

faltaint

4. create3dgames

create3dgames

Might want to watch some modeling tutorials too, specifically on topology. Your models are kind of meh, they could be better. One tip for you: always avoid creating cylinders and spheres. What you should do instead is create a cube, add some edge loops, and make it a sphere that way.

By the way I made a battle axe quite like the one you made a while ago. ;)

$axe.PNG

Anyway good luck and keep learning!

5. faltaint

faltaint

Thanks for the tip. Ill certainly try it out. Yeah i know my models arent the best but these are the first i actually made without following any tutorials or something and besides that i am new to Blender so i am still learning alot. I made these 2 after like following a 5minute tutorial about how blender works so in my opinion they arent that bad if you know i have only followed a 5minute tutorial. How did you make that texture and added it? Were they separated or already joined up into 1 object?

Kind regards

Alex Heijnen

Last edited: May 23, 2014
  6. tweedie

tweedie

The guy said he was new to it, I don't think you can really criticise him yet- he's just getting started.

Like Khelton said, to texture it like create3Dgames has, you'll need to look into UV mapping. Once you get your head around that, it will be very obvious how to texture the axe like in the picture above.