Search Unity

Blender Modules not importing to Unity

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by MW_Industries, May 14, 2018.

1. MW_Industries

MW_Industries

Hello, my name is Jamal and I'm fairly new to Unity and Blender, however, I've known about them for years. Anyhow, I've started to pick it up over the past few months and I notice something about importing blender projects into unity. Whenever I import my file "cell-shading", unity doesn't include the shading I've done with it in Blender. Is there any method of working around this?

asrk.png asfg.png

2. Flavelius

Flavelius

The shader nodes in Blender are Blender specific. When unity imports a .blend file, it internally converts it into fbx and imports that. So, most of the things fbx supports and blender supports exporting will be retained, everything else is either 'baked' or discarded. With the new principal shader in Blender (not sure if it's already available) you atleast can recreate the look in unity using the standard shader. For everything else you'd have to write a shader yourself or use a shader editor (like shader forge, amplify shader or the unity native one for the new render pipelines).

MW_Industries likes this.
  3. MW_Industries

MW_Industries

Thanks. This is going to make designing games a bit harder than I originally thought. I'm finally starting to get the hang of coding so I figure I would try 3d modeling. I've been a pixel artist for the longest of time so I figure I try something new.

Just another question: Will any textures I create for an object in Blender be able to transport to Unity?

I've recently decided to use UV Unwrapping to apply some textures. Will I be able to upload these textures onto my models in Unity?

4. BIG-BUG

BIG-BUG

Yes, usually you would use UV mapping for texturing in games (independent of 3d tool or game engine).

I'm sure there is an option to bake out your textures in blender so you can assign them in Unity.