Search Unity

Blender Materials to Unity Workflow

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by w0113, Feb 16, 2018.

1. w0113

w0113

Hi everyone,

I am a programmer with beginner/intermediate knowledge about Blender. I user Blender since many years as a hobby for myself, but I never used it for creating models for other tools like Unity.

For a tutorial I tried to create a longbow mesh by myself to learn more about the process of getting stuff into Unity. I did not had much problems creating the mesh and materials in Blender, but when the moment came to test the model inside Unity I was stuck.

The Problem is not exporting the mesh from blender, but the materials. The bow is one single mesh, consisting of 4 different materials and each material is created by a node setup with up to 4 different texture maps (color, normal, occ, spec, roughness). The string material is procedural and here os an example of one of the materials:

bow_node_setup.png

I got it done to bake all 4 material color textures into one, but i fell short with every other texture (especially the normal map). I wanted to combine normal map of all 4 materials into 1 normal map for the whole mesh. But I could not find a way to do that.

I assume my whole workflow of Blender to Unity is flawed and most other people doing it in another way. I realy appreciate it if someone could point me to some documentation or an tutorial, which goes deeper into the topic of transfering materials from Blender to Unity, or tells me how this problem is normally solved?

Sorry if this question is very similiar to other questions in this forum. I tried to find an answer to my problem but could not find a thread which realy answered my question. So please have mercy on my poor soul :). I also watched some Youtube tutorials of exporting Blender models to Unity, but none of them touched the problem of exporting/combining pre exsisting texture and normal maps into one texture/normal map.

Cheers
    a Unity Noob