Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Blender, junk objects

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by Dafu, Sep 18, 2006.

1. Dafu

Dafu

I'm new to Blender, so sometimes when I model things I get a little sloppy, make mistakes, do a lot of deletion and generally screwing up my objects. As I work on my modelling in this fashion blender stores all sorts of junk in its object hierarchy that I can't see in my scene, and hence can't figure out how to delete. If I press SHIFT-F3 (or was it SHIFT-F4) I can see all the different objects in my scene, but I can't delete them from there either. The end result is that when I finally import the object into Unity, Unity imports all the junk as well, when all I want is my final mesh.

So does anyone know how to manage/clean up junk objects in Blender before importing into Unity?

2. Jonathan Czeck

Jonathan Czeck

I like using the Outliner view. Split your main view and stick it on the side. Then if you see a weird graph thing with boxes, select View -> Show Outliner. Then you get a proper list view where you can select objects. Once you select them, move your cursor over to the scene view to delete them as normal.

(Probably other ways to do all this :) )

-Jon

Attached Files:

3. Dafu

Dafu

Ah yes I tried out Outliner too, as well as OOPS view. I can see my junk in there, and I can select it, but there are still things I can't always delete... For example the other day I was making 3D letters from fronts, after extruding them I have some left over splines in the hierarchy and couldn't delete those, even using the method you describe. Do you ever get objects in your hierachy that you just can't bloody delete?:)

4. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

Did you try highlighting the object in the Outliner and then pressing "X"? That might work.

5. Dafu

Dafu