Search Unity

Blender files look wrong in Unity

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by Curious37owl, Dec 23, 2016.

1. Curious37owl

Curious37owl

Screenshot (1).png Screenshot (2).png I am playing around with some low poly models. I made some trees and put them in Unity, they look fine. Then made a wolf and a human, they look great in Blender but after importing into Unity they look really odd. Colors are off and half the panels don't load.o_O The only thing that I know was done differently between the good and bad models is that the ones not loading properly utilized a mirror effect. Any ideas on how to fix this would be greatly appreciated.:D

Above is an image of the Wolf in Blender and another of it in Unity.

2. mariusz

mariusz

reverse normals in Blender and export again....

3. Curious37owl

Curious37owl

Thank you very much, much better now.:)

4. Curious37owl

Curious37owl

Now the shape looks good but colors aren't coming through.:p I'm very new to all of this so I'm sure its a simple mistake. Here are pics of what's happening now.o_O Screenshot (4).png Screenshot (3).png

5. kburkhart84

kburkhart84

Going by what I saw on your screenshots, you appear to have no textures and be using multiple materials in Blender. If you totally duplicate that setup in Unity it could somewhat work, but what you really want to do is make your models with a single material and use a texture to designate colors. In general, anything you do with Blender's materials won't directly work in Unity(among other many Blender things).

TaleOf4Gamers likes this.
  6. Pengocat

Pengocat

... that model looks like it is painted with vertex paint. If that is the case then make sure the Unity Shader supports vertex paint.

Last edited: Dec 24, 2016
  7. kburkhart84

kburkhart84