Search Unity

"Blender could not be found"

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by lmm6409, Jul 28, 2010.

1. lmm6409

lmm6409

HI, I'm pretty new to Unity but I have used it some. I just got a new computer (Windows 7 64-bit) and downloaded Unity and Blender into Program Files folders and I am trying to import a blender file into unity, just by importing new asset and trying to move from project tab to hierarchy or scene but get the 'Blender could not be found' error message. This same blend file imported fine into unity on my previous computer. What do I need to do to get unity to recognize Blender??
    Please any help would be much appreciated!

komicfan9 likes this.
  2. w00dn

w00dn

if you want to put blend files into the asset folder, you need blender 2.49. if you're going to only export fbx models and put them into the asset folder, then you can get the new 2.53 beta from the official website.

with 2.49, you need to have .blend files assigned to open with blender (set it the default app). i'd tell you to get an installer, that does it for you, but i couldn't find any official for windows 7.

after that, you should be able to doubleklick blend files from within unity.

ertbaran likes this.
  3. lmm6409

lmm6409

THANKS!! Easy enough!
    Also, I have tried to use the 2.5... versions with Unity and they did not work, only 2.49 has worked for me. Thanks for the help!

4. collinbxyz

collinbxyz

I am too late.....

5. Jasnik

Jasnik

Had same issue, I found that .blend files no longer opened blender if I double clicked on them.
    So I went to a .blend file right click --> open with and found blender.exe and selected that then ticked the box 'always use this app to open ,blend files' clicked OK.

Next time I dragged a .blend file to unity it worked.

coolamigo, sikvar and dbolden1013 like this.
  6. ak4514768

ak4514768

I
    I did the same but its again showing the same error. What to do?

7. Jasnik

Jasnik