Search Unity

  1. Check out the Unite LA keynote for updates on the Visual Effect Editor, the FPS Sample, ECS, Unity for Film and more! Watch it now!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want more efficiency in your development work? Sign up to receive weekly tech and creative know-how from Unity experts.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Blend Tree ignores animations with 'Loop Time' unchecked.

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Sigma266, Jul 13, 2018.

  1. Sigma266

    Sigma266

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Posts:
    73
    Pretty much everything's on the title. I'm not sure why this is happening, but animations that do have Loop Time checked work just fine. What's going on?
     
  2. gambitslacklines

    gambitslacklines

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    Easy to explain, the Blendtree runs one time when you enter it, if the animations or not set to loop, they will play onces and they are done.

    Lets say you got 2 animations in a Blendtree, which are based on a speedparameter like Walk-Run.

    Once the animator enters the blendtree, both animations start playing blended untill they reach the endframe.

    So the way you got it, is the way it should be.

    You can use a "Transition-to-Self" If you want them to loop without checking the "Loop Time" paramter.
     
  3. Sigma266

    Sigma266

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Posts:
    73
    I'm dumb and I forgot to mention that I don't want it to loop. It should do it once and then stop. Which is why I unchecked Loop Time. And thank you for answering.
     
  4. gambitslacklines

    gambitslacklines

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    No problem, you are welcome. I was confused about the same thing when i started with mecanim and it took me a while to recnognize that it is the way it is intended to work.