Search Unity

1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Blend Multiple Textures

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by catapart, Aug 26, 2020.

1. catapart

catapart

I'm new to shaders, in general, and new to Shader Graph especially, so I'm trying to figure out how best to blend an entire array of textures (around 10) so that the Y axis in Absolute World space will determine which texture to use.

Using tutorials, I've developed this graph which successfully blends two textures at a variable height with a variable blend weight. But when I try to add more textures, using the same Lerp method, I get stuck.

upload_2020-8-26_11-6-0.png

Every time I Lerp, I'm only ever able to affect change based on half of the full value. In example, the blending between two textures starts at the halfway point, and can be adjusted to blend across half of the texture. But if I add a third texture, the blend can only be adjusted on that third texture to blend across one quarter of the original texture space.

I come from a code background, so it's hard for me to translate what I would try to accomplish in code to the shader graph. And even if I could, I don't know that it's an appropriate or optimized way to do it in shader graph. So I was hoping someone would have some insight on how to build a shader that blends more than two textures together, based on a vector1 values that determine where each texture should begin, along the Y axis.

Please let me know if you have any thoughts! Thanks!

2. catapart

catapart