Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Black screen after Unity Logo with ASUS EP121 X86 tablet on Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Syphius, Aug 2, 2013.

  1. Syphius

    Syphius

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    Hello,

    I'm trying to port my game on Windows Store Apps.

    The game already works with Windows Phone 8, Android and iOS.

    When I start the game on my desktop PC on Windows 8 Pro everything works.

    But When I deploy the game on my ASUS EP121 X86 tablet on Windows 8 Entreprise, just after the Unity logo, a black screen is displayed and nothing else appears.

    This tablet have a Intel HD Graphic card.

    I have no special logs on Visual Studio Debug outputs.

    Is it a known bug? Could someone help me?

    Best Regards,

    Guillaume ORTEGA.
     
  2. Syphius

    Syphius

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    Hello,

    I just tried the same test with a Unity Empty project with an empty scene (or with a red cube).
    It's exactly the same problem! a black screen after the Unity Logo.

    Best Regards,

    Guillaume ORTEGA.
     
  3. tswalk

    tswalk

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,109
    I've noticed this as well.. and it happens after the mainpage.xaml is loaded and rendered just prior to the D3D surface is created on the swapchainpanel... a black screen is displayed just briefly.
     
  4. Syphius

    Syphius

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    Hello,

    For me it's not briefly, the game block on this black screen.

    I've also noticed that on other devices its briefly, but not on the ASUS EP121.

    Best Regards.
     
  5. Aurimas-Cernius

    Aurimas-Cernius

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Posts:
    3,766
    This bug has been fixed in Unity, so wait for new release.
    There is no such black screen if you use Unity PRO, only in Basic (which will be fixed in new release, as I said).
     
  6. caldofran

    caldofran

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    Hi,

    Aurimas, i have the same problem in Windows Phone 8... Do you know if this bug is also present in WinPhone? Do you know when would be the new release published? Is there a temporal workaround to avoid this bug?

    Thanks!
     
  7. DanielSan

    DanielSan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    I found it occurred when I edited the splash screen image to rotate it to horizontal, upon rebuilding and leaving the image alone it went away.
     
  8. Aurimas-Cernius

    Aurimas-Cernius

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Posts:
    3,766
    Hi,

    As far as I know, this problem was specific to Win Store Apps, the black screen is shown for a few seconds there. For how long is the black screen showing for you?
     
  9. caldofran

    caldofran

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    Hi,

    I'm trying to migrate an actually working and published Android game with Unity free version (4.2.0f4) The black screen appears after the Unity splash logo and does not disappear, making impossible to continue...

    I've changed some classes that didn't work in WinPhone, but the app seems to run fine in the Unity IDE... (i've not try to deploy a simple project). Any ideas?

    Thank you very much.
     
  10. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,737
    Did you check unity log on the phone after black screen happening?
     
  11. caldofran

    caldofran

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    I've no idea of how to do that... (as far as i know the profiler is not available in Unity free and have no idea of how to check any logs in WinPhone) if you mean if Visual Studio throws me a kind of a log, trace or exception... the answer is no...
     
  12. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,737
    The log is on the phone itself. To extract it you can use this software:

    http://wptools.codeplex.com/

    The log should be in isolated storage under your app.
     
  13. caldofran

    caldofran

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    This is the log... (those transform don't exist in my project, maybe in the past when i started the app) I'm not sure that those logs are relevant...

    [mecanim]: BindSkeleton: cannot find Transform 'Cube_346'

    (Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/cac08d8a5e25d4cb/Runtime/Animation/Animator.cpp Line: 1487)

    [mecanim]: BindSkeleton: cannot find Transform 'Cube_347'

    (Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/cac08d8a5e25d4cb/Runtime/Animation/Animator.cpp Line: 1487)

    [mecanim]: BindSkeleton: cannot find Transform 'Cube_351'

    (Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/cac08d8a5e25d4cb/Runtime/Animation/Animator.cpp Line: 1487)

    [mecanim]: BindSkeleton: cannot find Transform 'Plane'

    (Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/cac08d8a5e25d4cb/Runtime/Animation/Animator.cpp Line: 1487)

    [mecanim]: BindSkeleton: cannot find Transform 'Plane_001'

    (Filename: C:/BuildAgent/work/cac08d8a5e25d4cb/Runtime/Animation/Animator.cpp Line: 1487)
     
  14. caldofran

    caldofran

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    I've tried to deploy a simple Unity Project en the Phone and it worked perfectly... So, my project has something that causes this black screen.

    I've debugged the project deployed into the phone, and the start and update events launches correctly (start once, update n times)... tried also to touch the screen where supposedly has to be a button... and what a surprise, the event worked fine... so, my app is working correctly but not showing in the screen... Any ideas?
     
  15. caldofran

    caldofran

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Posts:
    45
    I've found the pronlem... it was an asset from the asset store... that seems not to work correctly on WinPhone 8...

    Thank you all!!
     
  16. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,737
    I'm glad you've solved it!
     
  17. Foriero

    Foriero

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    584
    Hi, I have the same issue, can you please tell me what asset did it?