Search Unity

black borders around colorized sprite

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by F4bs, Aug 9, 2019.

1. F4bs

F4bs

does anybody know why this shader is drawing black lines when i colorize it? i basically want a shader that is able to put the whole sprite white without borders + it has to be lit and when the alpha is zero it should be the normal texture. Which is exactly what this shader i found does except the black outline. thanks in advance for any help :)
    Unbenannt1.png
    Unbenannt.png

2. iSinner

iSinner

I have a suspicion that the shader multiplies alpha with the color, that's why it goes darker on the edges till alpha fades to zero making anything beyond just transparent.

What you would need to do is not multiply alpha with the color in the shader code.

3. F4bs

F4bs

okay i will look into that. but im a complete noob with shaders. if you can add some lines of code that would be extremely helpful for me. this is the github i got this shaders from: https://github.com/traggett/UnitySpriteShaders and SpritesPixelLitDissolve is the one i use.

Last edited: Aug 9, 2019
  4. F4bs

F4bs

well for anyone who has the same problem i just created a second material with the blendmode changed to additive and swapped that in. dirty solution but works ^^

5. bgolus

bgolus

What happens if you use the PremultipliedAlpha option?

The problem is probably because your Sprite textures have a black background and you're using the StandardAlpha blend mode which expects the background color to match the color of the Sprite in the areas around the alpha.

You could also try selecting "alpha is transparency" in the texture / Sprite asset settings. That does a dilate pass on the texture to remove the black background.

Alex-CG and iSinner like this.
  6. F4bs

F4bs

thanks for your reply :) sadly the premultiplied alpha option gives a white 10% alpha rectangle and alpha is transparency is already activated :/

7. F4bs

F4bs