Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Black bars on XS Max

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by juniorhoffy, Jul 2, 2019.

  1. juniorhoffy

    juniorhoffy

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hello!
    When I try to use Unity Remote with my old iPhone 6s Plus everything works fine, the editor recognizes that the display is 1920x1080 and runs the application in full screen.

    When I use my XS Max with the remote I do however encounter a problem. Both the "Start screen" with the information on how to use the Remote and the play mode runs with weird black bars which look like this:
    65923158_448193989064373_9094867328323026944_n.jpg 65488283_2445536908859036_4653756584596340736_n.jpg
    The screen resolution of the XS Max is 1242x2688 but the editor recognizes it as and runs play mode in 1242x2208. There is a difference of 480 pixels and I guess that is where the problem is. I have tried setting a canvas with UI elements to 1242x2688 as reference resolution but that didn't help.

    Any ideas?
     
    devnevins likes this.
  2. devnevins

    devnevins

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    I am having the same problem. Unity Remote 5 doesn't even extend all the way down to the bottom (and top) of the XM Max screen. It should at least do that! Unity itself runs fine but it doesn't show up properly on my device. This makes testing very difficult. Help!
     
  3. Neonlyte

    Neonlyte

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    164
    Unity Remote 5 does not seem to be updated to use iPhone X's new screen layout. Unity needs to update the app itself. In the meantime, you can test by exporting the project and debug with Xcode.
     
  4. eshan-mathur

    eshan-mathur

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Posts:
    118
    I'm surprised this is the only thread I could find on this topic. This still doesn't seem to be fixed as of Aug 2019. Did I miss something? Paging @Mantas-Puida @Eric5h5
     
  5. dechriss

    dechriss

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Okay, so its 2020 and the remote still has this black bars on the iPhone XS Max...
    And does only work when choosing "Any iOS device".
    When choosing the correctly recognized device "iPhone XS Max (000080)" it doesn't connect.
     
unityunity